Foxy Cosplay: The Head Part 3

Based on the number of posts covering this topic, Foxy’s head has obviously been the most involved part of the costume, and I suppose it makes sense.  A face is far more important than a leg or a foot, after all, and so I simply must make it perfect.  This is also the process I’ve been looking forward to since the beginning, adding the fur and other various details to the head.  Now he’s really going to start looking like more than just a foam blob.

When I began this part of the costume, I had a very specific order of steps in mind that would best hide the stitches and other such nonsense I’d rather others didn’t see.  The first step was to add the dark red fleece inside the mouth.  After this, I added some black fleece (just some leftover fabric from Rosalina’s Luma plushie) over Foxy’s ear…dents, just because they wouldn’t really affect anything, and I might as well get that out of the way.  The next thing I wanted to add was the teeth.  I counted twenty teeth in Foxy’s mouth, eight on top and twelve on bottom, half of which were gold.  I made these out of craft foam, and I gave them flat, little bases.  After painting half the teeth gold, I realized the teeth were too long, so I had to trim them and repaint them.  Woops.  It was a pretty easy process, though, so it didn’t take me too long to fix everything.  (I also added some fake blood.  Oh, Foxy, stop nibbling on people, you silly thing.)

Right now, Foxy's bites are most ineffective.
Right now, Foxy’s bites are most ineffective.
Foxy's ear...areas and an army of unfinished teeth.
Foxy’s ear…areas and an army of unfinished teeth.
The teeth on the right need some gold paint. Because Foxy's classy like that.
The teeth on the right need some gold paint. Because Foxy’s classy like that.
The lower jaw's teeth. I'm sure they'll look more impressive once they're inside his mouth.
The lower jaw’s teeth. I’m sure they’ll look more impressive once they’re inside his mouth.

Now, adding the teeth was a different matter.  I decided that teeth would be a rather difficult shape to sew on, as you might imagine, so I began instead by sewing inside his mouth a bunch of round foam discs, to which I could glue the teeth onto.  These foam discs were very carefully arranged so that no tooth would hit the other, though I ended up being unable to fit the last two teeth in his lower jaw.  And yet, I refrained from gluing the teeth in at this time because I still needed to sew fur onto Foxy’s jaws, and I didn’t want the teeth to get in the way.

Those cavities sure did a number on Foxy's teeth.
Those cavities sure did a number on Foxy’s teeth.

My next step was sewing some brown fur onto Foxy’s upper jaw.  It was a pretty simple affair, just time consuming.  After this, I got to work on a few details.  One was Foxy’s nose, the shape of which required some clever sleuthing in order to figure out.  You see, I have a screenshot of Foxy when he reaches your office in the first game.  It’s the best quality image I can find of him, but you can only see his nose from the front.  Or can you?  If you look at those strange monitors on the desk against the back wall, they seem to be reflecting Foxy at different angles.  Look at the monitors on the far right, and you can see tiny images of Foxy from the side.  This allowed me to get a better idea of how his nose should be shaped.  After I congratulated myself on my overwhelming cleverness, I created his nose out of upholstery foam, complete with two, little nostrils.

Foxy's nose, pre-leather. He can still sniff things just fine, though.
Foxy’s nose, pre-leather. He can still sniff things just fine, though.

The fabric I had for Foxy’s nose is fake, black leather, which has a nice shine and texture to it that I think looks good on a canine nose.  It’s rather thick, though, so I sewed some black fleece into his nostrils (eww) because it is more flexible, then I sewed the leather around the foam nose.  It was rather tough to get thick fabric wrapped around such a small shape, but I finally managed after a lot of trial and error.  Sewing on Foxy’s nose was a bit difficult, as well, as it’s a strange shape, and his upper jaw is quite thick, so I had no choice but to super glue it on.  After that, I cut out ten little circles of dark red fleece and super glued them onto his upper jaw, as well, to look like his whiskers.  I must say, he’s starting to look rather cute now.

Nose and whiskers done. I wish his whiskers didn't look like pepperoni....
Nose and whiskers done. I wish his whiskers didn’t look like pepperoni….
A close-up of his nose. See the nostrils?
A close-up of his nose. See the nostrils?

From there, I sewed fabric onto his lower jaw, though I had to be a bit creative when it came to the hinges.  Not only did I not want to risk sewing through the hinges, I wanted this fabric to be easily removable for repairs, as the screws come loose a lot.  (I probably did something wrong.  If it comes from a hardware store, I will probably use it improperly.)  I originally planned on using Velcro here, but I have learned that Velcro is often not as reliable as they want you to think.  Definite conspiracy aside, I decided to wrap the fabric around the end of the jaw, but instead of sewing it to the jaw, I sewed the fabric to itself, creating some kind of pillow case, or slipcover, of sorts.  Now I can pull this fabric off and on with ease.  Ingenious, Duck!  Ingenious!

Here's what his jaw hinges look like now. You can't even tell it's temporary. Can you?
Here’s what his jaw hinges look like now. You can’t even tell it’s temporary. Can you?

Oh, I almost forgot!  I also hot glued in his teeth around this point.  The front two teeth in his lower jaw also didn’t fit right, but hey, 16 out of 20 is not bad, right?  I’m really happy with how the teeth turned out.  They look pretty darn cool.  Honestly, at this point, Foxy’s starting to look a little nightmarish.  Better keep him locked up at night….

Yikes! Maybe I should watch my fingers...
Yikes! Maybe I should watch my fingers…
Don't bare your teeth at me, young man!
Don’t bare your teeth at me, young man!

Now, here is where I ran into some problems.  My next step was to ensure that Foxy’s head fit properly.  When I put it on at this point, I quickly learned that Foxy’s snout was much too heavy.  At first, I created a counterbalance (it was filled with uncooked beans, but they do sell plastic beads you can use for such purposes, as well, I heard).  While this worked, it made the head too heavy and painful to wear.  A quick search on the Internet taught me that some people use some kind of harness to help with the weight of a fursuit head on its wearer, but nowhere could I find any assistance on the matter.

Furthermore, it occurred to me that I never wore the head with the torso.  When I proceeded to try them both on, I realized that the head and shoulders get in the way of each other, causing Foxy’s head to float above where it should be.  Now things were not going my way at all.  I better get started on adjustments.  First, I greatly expanded the neck hole in Foxy’s torso, both in an attempt to get Foxy’s head to fit within the neck hole instead of upon it and to flatten the shoulders down.  My last adjustment was to add a piece of upholstery foam inside the head where my own head goes in order to lift the head up an inch.  To my great relief, this largely prevented the head and torso from bumping into each other too much, and my eyes were still lined up with Foxy’s eye sockets.  Methinks that’s the best I’ll be able to do.

Now, for that weight.  Well, first of all, I attached some craft foam inside the inner “hat” where my head goes to make it tighter, along with adding more plastic mesh in the back just to make it more secure.  This caused the head to more easily turn with me, so my head wouldn’t simply move freely inside Foxy’s head.  At this point, I noticed that, when I wore the head, my chin would hit the inside of Foxy’s head at a spot between the eyes and lower jaw.  A strange idea hit me.  What if I put a piece of foam there to prevent this?  If I used this foam to push my chin back, would it, in turn, hold the jaw up?

The inside of the head; it looks like a very impractical hat
The inside of the head; it looks like a very impractical hat

After careful consideration, I decided to place a piece of upholstery foam (I cut it down to a half-inch thick) at the back end of the lower jaw.  There is black fabric on the side facing the mouth (the side people will see) and dark red fleece on the side facing me.  One added benefit to this new piece of foam is that it now prevents people from looking into the mouth and seeing me.  The side facing me was mainly covered in fabric to make it softer because upholstery foam on its own can be quite irritating to the skin.  I also made sure I sewed this foam a short ways back so that it would not interfere with the main head, which could prevent the mouth from opening and closing freely.

Surprisingly enough, this foam actually helped to stabilize Foxy’s head.  Now, instead of falling forward, my chin hits that inner foam, and the head stays in place.  The foam also played a role in allowing my chin to come into contact with the lower jaw, allowing me to open and close the mouth.  I did, however, add a small piece of foam near the top so that the foam would better cup my chin.  This helped a lot in having greater control of the mouth, plus it prevented my chin from simply slipping out of place.

Now this is becoming a rather crazy contraption, isn't it?
Now this is becoming a rather crazy contraption, isn’t it?

Unfortunately, I think the weight of Foxy’s jaw has also taken a toll on the elastic holding the mouth closed.  Thinking the elastic had gotten too stretched when I worked on Foxy’s mouth, I replaced it with new elastic, but the mouth still hangs open farther than I want it to.  As long as it opens and closes, I guess it’s okay if his mouth is permanently open a small bit, as this allows people to see his teeth at all times, but I am rather disappointed that I can see no way to make his mouth work as effectively as I would have liked.

Well, at this point, all that was left was the finishing touches.  I added the red “fur” to Foxy’s cheeks first, as they are a rather complicated shape to cover, after which I got to work adding the red fur to the main head.  I actually already created his eyes, ears, and…head-tuft, but I will describe the process for creating them in the next post.  Suffice it to say, Foxy’s head is almost done, and I’m really excited to see the finished result.  I had my doubts I would be able to pull off such a complex task, but it looks as if I just might make it.

Stare deep into Foxy's empty, soulless eye sockets. You know you want to.
Stare deep into Foxy’s empty, soulless eye sockets. You know you want to.

The Duck is Creating a Monster!

Leave a Reply

