New Theme, New Outlook, New Beginnings

You may or may not have noticed by now, but the Duck’s blog has a new theme!  Since my earliest days on WordPress, my blog has sported the same virtual garb (or, might I say, “digital style”), a theme of dark colors called Motion.  But no longer, I declared last Tuesday!  It was time to freshen up this dreary, old journal with my new, far cheerier theme, Shine On!  I wanted something a bit brighter and uncluttered, and by golly, I think I picked the best theme I could.  While I had actually been meaning to update this blog for the past year or so, it was thanks to a recent change of attitude in life that finally motivated me to grant my blog the transformation it had so desperately needed, among other things.

It’s rather complicated, but I’ll try to explain as best I can, in my vague kind of way.  I can be a rather private Duck sometimes, you see.  For the last unspecified span of years, I felt as if life had been passing me by.  Every day, it felt as if I was waiting for something to happen, even when that something remained entirely unknown to me.  And when one is waiting for some event they wouldn’t recognize even if it looked them in the eye and declared its arrival, one finds themselves waiting a very long time indeed.

Years rushed by, years I was not living to the full extent, but merely watching like a passive onlooker.  But recently, I decided I had to grab hold of life while I still could.  I had to jump into the canoe, so to speak, and ride life’s river rather than merely tracing its flow from the riverbanks.  Forgive my sad attempts at being poetic, but I cannot get into real detail without divulging a grand history of my life that would neither be prudent to reveal nor interesting.  Suffice it to say, I felt unfulfilled, a state of mind that was entirely of my own doing.

I began to worry that I, like so many before me, would suddenly find that decades and decades of my life had been eclipsed, and I would look back and regret all the time I had spent not doing that which I truly dreamed.  Fearing that one day it would be too late, I decided to make a change this year.  I have never made a New Year’s Resolution before, but now’s as good a time as any.

Starting in 2017, I resolve to LIVE, plain and simple.  As a result, this blog’s look got a complete overhaul, just one seemingly inconsequential step towards my greater goal, but sometimes the tiny steps that get the journey started are the most important of all.  And now, I shall continue to look for other ways to improve my life and live it to the fullest.  In fact, I have something exciting coming up in the future, something I have been wishing to do for many years, but which I believed was still a long way off for no other reason than my inexplicable feeling that I was waiting for something I now know will never come because it doesn’t exist.  There was nothing to wait for but the choice to wait no longer, and that’s exactly what I did.  As for the details of what I plan to do, I will leave that a secret for now, but I’ll be sure to share it with you all once it happens.

Here’s to new beginnings.  Here’s to living while there’s still life in us!

A New Duck AKA Duck 2.0!

Image used is Public Domain, taken by Flickr user: tofoli.douglas

10 thoughts on “New Theme, New Outlook, New Beginnings

  1. “the tiny steps that get the journey started are the most important of all”

    You are absolutely right there! I wish you luck on that journey. May it take you to great places.

    Like

Leave a Reply

