Lions and Tigers and Leopards…Kitten-Style

You may already know this based on past posts on the subject, but I really enjoy visiting the zoo.  I love animals, plus you never know what you’ll discover, and every once in a while I see something that is worth writing about.  During my recent visit, one of the things that I remember particularly well was a great horned owl that kept hooting.  I assume the same is the case for most people, but I don’t know if I have ever heard an owl before in my life, so getting to stand ten feet from a hooting owl was a pretty cool thing indeed.  I also got to see the zoo’s new badgers, which was quite interesting, as well.  I had never seen a badger before, either (which is probably fortunate, considering their reputation), so that was one more thing to add to my list of new experiences that day.

Hooting owls and notoriously ornery badgers aside, my true purpose for today’s post is something even more special.  It was on this particular visit that the zoo had several baby animals that simply must be shared with the world, three baby lions, a solitary leopard cub, and a tiger cub.  Need I say more?  They were all sleeping, as we all surely know how much work it is being that cute, and I took a bunch of pictures to forever remember these baby kitties before they eventually outgrow their cuteness.

The Tiger

The baby tiger, looking as if it had fallen asleep mid-stroll.
The baby tiger, looking as if it had fallen asleep mid-stroll.
After a few seconds of walking, the tiger fell asleep again.
After a few seconds of walking, the tiger fell asleep again.
And the funny thing is, the tiger even has a plushie of itself!
And the funny thing is, the tiger even has a plushie of itself!

The Leopard

The leopard nearly blends in to its blankie.  Adorable!
The leopard nearly blends in to its blankie. Adorable!
And its toy seems to be a...thing.  Oh, and you can see milk in the bowl in the back.
And its toy seems to be a…thing. Oh, and you can see milk in the bowl in the back.

The Lions

Two of the lion cubs taking a mighty nap together.
Two of the lion cubs taking a mighty nap together.
While this one has a lovely, spotted coat.
While this one has a lovely, spotted coat.

And there you have it, five baby wildcats who are already as large as my cat Elsa.  A truly frightening thought indeed.  The baby tiger even woke up for a short while and staggered a few feet before returning to the peaceful embrace of slumber.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get a picture of that adorable face and bright blue eyes in time, but it was quite a sight to behold.  And now, I leave you all with a very important task.  Be sure to visit your local zoo, everyone.  More baby animals must be photographed!

I’m Not Sure If They’re as Cute as Baby Ducklings, Though…

2 thoughts on “Lions and Tigers and Leopards…Kitten-Style

Leave a Reply

