Foxy Cosplay: The Hook

For quite some time, I’ve been pretty excited about making Foxy’s hook.  I’ve never gotten to wear a pirate hook before, and, well, pirate garb is cool.  (I look forward to adding an eye patch in the future, too.  Foxy is pretty much a combination of too many cool things.  Foxes, pirates, robots.  He’s just awesome like that.)  At the same time, I was also unsure how I was going to make it.  A hook’s not exactly a very simple shape, now is it?  (Answer: No, it is not.)

First off all, however, I had something else to do before I could concern myself with that pesky hook.  I needed to make the base.  Normally, the base of most pirate hooks seem to have this cylinder shape with a rounded top, but when I looked up references, I noticed that Foxy’s hook kind of looks like a short cylinder with a smaller cylinder on top.  A bit unusual, yes, but that sounds like an easier shape to make, so I was pleased.  After making a model out of paper in order to figure out the proportions, I made the base of the hook out of craft foam by creating two cylinders and gluing them on top of each other.  In order to allow my hand to fit into the upper cylinder (the farther up my hand can fit inside the base, the shorter I can cut the base later when I trim it down to a better length), I cut a hole inside the top of the larger cylinder to allow access into the upper cylinder.  Alas, the base was complete.

The foam hook base, next to my silly paper model.
The foam hook base, next to my silly paper model.

Now it was time for the hard part.  I started by cutting out the shape and size of the hook on paper, which I found should be about the same length as Foxy’s forearm.  This seemed pretty big, but I’d rather make the hook a bit too large than too small.  It needs to be as menacing as possible, darn it!  But how, I asked myself, would I make the hook 3D?  After a bit of thought, I decided that, if I wanted to make a rounded hook shape, perhaps I should try cutting out two hooks and gluing them together, edge to edge.  This should naturally form a rounded shape, right?  I tried this with paper first, and to my great relief, it worked quite nicely.  Now I just needed to create the final version of the hook out of craft foam.  I cut out two craft foam hooks, with one change: I made the end extra long so that the end of the hook could stick through the base a decent length, which I thought would be more secure.

Gee, these sure look fun to glue together, don't they?
Gee, these sure look fun to glue together, don’t they?

I think it took about two hours or so to glue the hook together.  I could only hold small bits together at a time, so I would slowly super glue the ends together to secure the foam long enough so that I could hot glue it.  Hot gluing the inside of one seam was easy, but when the time came to hot glue inside the other seam, it was much tougher because the hook had since formed a narrow tube the glue gun couldn’t fit inside.  After a short while, I devised a cunning solution.  I decided to stick a decent amount of hot glue inside the tube and hold it so the glue dripped down where it needed to go.  I could tell it was working because I could feel the heat of the glue through the foam, so I knew it had reached the seam lower down.

The hook beside my paper models. Paper is a far more useful tool for cosplayers than you'd think.
The hook beside my paper models. Paper is a far more useful tool for cosplayers than you’d think.

After a lot of work and a few burns, the hook was complete.  The end twisted inwards a bit more than I wanted, but it turned out pretty decent, nonetheless.  After that, I cut a hole in the top of the base, stuck the hook in, and hot glued it in place.  One added benefit of the extra long end of the hook was the fact that I now had something that doubled as a handle inside the hook base that I could hold onto.  One problem with this costume is the fact that I won’t have any hands I can use.  My left hand will be covered in my foam claws, which aren’t very useful, and my right hand will be wearing the hook.  I decided the best thing to do was to ensure the hook was easily removable, and now it is because all I have to do is to let go of the handle and let it slide off.

The hook has been glued together and is all ready for painting! Paint me, Duck! I want to be shiny!
The hook has been glued together and is all ready for painting! Paint me, Duck! I want to be shiny!

After this, I trimmed the base a little bit, as it was a bit too long.  Next, I painted it silver and dry brushed it to make it look aged.  Last of all came the details, the blood and rust I made using paint mixed with coffee grounds, a method I had already used with Foxy’s hand and feet.  (While this method is very effective for making realistic blood and rust, it also makes the costume very stinky.  Any piece sporting these details has a sickly coffee smell I find quite unpleasant whenever I have the misfortune of catching a whiff of it.  Ick.)  I know I’m probably a bit morbid, but I kind of had fun adding the blood to the hook and making it look like the blood was dripping down.  Heh heh…eww…  More proof that any fellow comicon goers should probably keep their distance from Foxy, no matter how soft and fuzzy he may be.

I look great now! Thanks, Duck!
I look great now! Thanks, Duck!
Hey, now I look all dirty! No fair!
Hey, now I look all dirty! No fair!
This is not what I had in mind when I asked you to paint me, Duck....
This is not what I had in mind when I asked you to paint me, Duck….

The hook looks pretty decent, though I’m not entirely certain if it’s done yet or not.  One problem with wearing a pirate hook is the fact that, since I am fortunate enough to not actually be missing a hand, the base has to be made far larger than it would normally be in order to cover said hand.  One solution I have in mind is to add some of the red fleece to the base of the hook to help it blend in with the arm, but I’m not sure yet how good this will look.  For now, I’m just going to continue on with the costume, and it might be something I add towards the end.  I just think it’s pretty cool I was able to make a fairly realistic pirate hook without having to simply buy one or make the hook flat.  It was a very tough shape to make, but in the end, all the extra effort was worth it.  I just need to stop burning myself with that darn hot glue.  Owch…

Arrr, me 'earties! Shiver me timbers! ...I'm a pirate, if you couldn't tell.
Arrr, me ‘earties! Shiver me timbers! …I’m a pirate, if you couldn’t tell.

The Duck is…Hooked on Cosplay

6 thoughts on “Foxy Cosplay: The Hook

    1. Thanks! Yes, I actually am one of three admins for another gaming blog called United We Game. If you’re a fan of video games, I’d definitely recommend checking it out (the link is in my Blogroll, if you’re interested).

      Like

Leave a Reply

