Comicon #2 2016: Photo Tour

Hey there, everyone!  Today’s been a pretty busy year, with two costumes and all, but now both my costumes are complete and both of this year’s comicons are over and done with.  If you want to read about my experience in more detail, please visit United We Game for the more detailed post on the subject.  As usual, this here blog gets a special treat, my photo tour.  This is the larger of the two comicons I get to attend, which means more cool things to see and awesome costumes to admire.  Let’s get started!

First of all, I cosplayed as Vanille from Final Fantasy XIII, and since I had anticipated having my hands full with an extra bag holding all of my money, my phone, repair supplies, and the like, I decided to just take pictures of myself at home where this would all be more convenient.  Apologies for the fact that I don’t have any pictures of me at the actual comicon.  (I wish I had taken more, but the place is just so busy and hectic, it’s not always easy to find a place to take photos where I’m not in anyone’s way.)  The costume wasn’t too tough to put on, though it certainly had a lot of pieces, many of which had to be attached with small lobster clasps, which could sometimes be a pain.  And since her costume has so many layers to it, I had to be very systematic as to the order in which I put everything on.  I think it turned out pretty decent in the end, though, and nothing broke, which was nice.  (Some velcro wanted to peel off of the belt by the end of the day, but I can always super glue that in place if I decide to do so.)

Taking pictures of myself is difficult. Luckily, this room has a large mirror. That helps.
Taking pictures of myself is difficult. Luckily, this room has a large mirror. That helps.
Time for a close up. How do?
Time for a close up. How do?
And the costume from behind, all thanks to that handy dandy mirror.
And the costume from behind, all thanks to that handy dandy mirror.

Once dressed, I headed to the comicon.  I got my badge, and then it was time to check out the main hall.  Like usual, this place was huge and crowded, and I spent a couple hours just walking down one aisle after another, taking notes as to the locations of anything cool.  Believe me, if you don’t do this, there’s a good chance you’ll never find your way back to whatever caught your eye.  I saw many neat things, plushies (including a giant Freddy Fazbear, from Five Nights at Freddy’s, of course), figurines, posters, and even these cool metal figurines of various things, including Star Wars characters and Dr. Who’s Dalek and Sonic Screwdriver.  I wanted some of the things here, but it was expensive.  Maybe next year.

These metal figurines were pretty cool and unique. Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon
These metal figurines were pretty cool and unique.
Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon

After my exhaustive search, I took a break and had some chicken nuggets, one of my favorite snacks.  Once my meal was finished, I narrowed down my list of interesting items until I had decided on the things I wanted most.  And could afford, of course.  I ended up getting a figurine of Sora from Kingdom Hearts, the Halloween version, to be more precise, and an alpaca plush.  I had seen these at nearly every comicon for the past few years, and I could resist its adorable call no longer.  I ended up getting the white one with the pink eyes because I like the more natural colors over purple or green.  I know the eye color isn’t very natural, but it’s quite lovely, nonetheless.

Behold, my loot! Sorry you can't see Sora. Whenever I took pictures of the inside of the box, I kept seeing my reflection in the plastic.
Behold, my loot! Sorry you can’t see Sora. Whenever I took pictures of the inside of the box, I kept seeing my reflection in the plastic.
My friendly new alpaca steals the spotlight as being the cutest plush ever!
My friendly new alpaca steals the spotlight as being the cutest plush ever!

In addition to these goodies, I got about ten requests to have photos taken of myself and three compliments, including one person who said I looked just like Vanille.  I also saw some other people in pretty cool or otherwise fun costumes, but seeing as I took very few photos at the comicon due to having full hands, I am using photos from the comicon’s Flickr page to show you guys what I saw.  Here are some of the highlights below.  (I was unable to find any photos of a very intimidating Slender Man, however.  He was wearing stilts to make himself really tall, and he was terrifying!)

Here's an awesome dragon lady. Her costume looked really neat up close. Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon
Here’s an awesome dragon lady. Her costume looked really neat up close.
Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon
I saw Woody and Buzz Lightyear quite often. How fun! Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon
I saw Woody and Buzz Lightyear quite often. How fun!
Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon
I'm not sure who this character is, but I thought their costume was quite interesting. Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon
I’m not sure who this character is, but I thought their costume was quite interesting.
Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon
And lots of people wanted pictures with this guy. He looks very serious. Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon
And lots of people wanted pictures with this guy. He looks very serious.
Photo from Flickr User: Phoenix Comicon

Last of all, I visited the large hall upstairs.  There were supposed to be actors here, but I didn’t really see anyone I had heard of.  They also had a lot of sections dedicated to different themes, such as Dr. Who, Star Wars, pirates, zombies, and legos.  It was less busy here at this time, so I did get some pictures, namely a Dalek…

Please don't exterminate me!
Please don’t exterminate me!

R2D2, up close and personal…

I think this was the droid I was looking for....
I think this was the droid I was looking for….

And lots of photos of the adorable lego town…

Here comes the chu chu train!
Here comes the chu chu train!
Here's a tree house and the Scooby Doo Mystery Machine!
Here’s a tree house and the Scooby Doo Mystery Machine!
It looks like King Kong is causing some trouble.
It looks like King Kong is causing some trouble.

Plus a lot of Star Wars-themed lego creations, as well.  Oh, the sheer joy of it all!

Aw, it's lego R2!
Aw, it’s lego R2!
And lego General Grievous. He's not that scary when he's about a foot tall.
And lego General Grievous. He’s not that scary when he’s about a foot tall.

While I did not attend this year’s masquerade (Vanille just didn’t seem like a great character to perform as, and mere fabric costumes rarely win awards anyway), I did watch it on Youtube, and I wanted to share my favorite cosplays.

The Invisible Man was one cosplay I found particularly impressive.  I have no idea how he gave the appearance of actually being invisible, but it was pretty cool.

Video from Youtube User: Blao9

The Mermaid Hunter was also pretty awesome.  I love the use of bubbles to look like he was underwater and the moving gears on the front of his costume.  I always love moving parts.

Video from Youtube User: Blao9

The Red Robes from Journey were quite beautiful.  I loved their costumes and their performance.

Video from Youtube User: Blao9

This Belle was one I remember seeing in person while walking around outside.  Even up close, her costume was very well made and detailed.  I think she might have won an award, and it was well-deserved.

Video from Youtube User: Blao9

And Midna from The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess, one of my favorite characters ever.  I think I saw her in person at the comicon, too, or maybe it was another Midna.  She was pretty cool.  (I also saw Midna’s true form at the comicon, as well.  I wish I had photos of her.  But alas, I do not.)

Video from Youtube User: Blao9

And that’s that.  I had a fun time at the comicon, and I look forward to next year’s!  I don’t know if Vanille did as well as other characters I had cosplayed as in the past, but she still got plenty of love, and having people take photos of my hard work and seeing all the other amazing costumes made it all worthwhile.  ‘Til next convention, everyone!

I Wish There Had Been Lego Ducks…

3 thoughts on “Comicon #2 2016: Photo Tour

    1. It was a good time indeed! And thanks. This costume was a lot of work. There was a lot of detail to it, so I’m glad it all came together all right.

      Oh, you’re probably right. The dragon lady does look like she’s supposed to be Maleficent. Her costume’s pretty cool.

      Like

Leave a Reply

