Animal Crossing House Tours

I’ve been thinking, after all these years of blogging, that maybe it was time to share something a bit more personal about myself.  Let me tell you a bit about where I live…in Animal Crossing.  From time to time, my mom and I enjoy playing Animal Crossing: City Folk, where we have, over the course of several years, amassed and spent millions of Bells.  If you’re not familiar with Animal Crossing, this is a game where you, a human, live in a village of talking animals, earn money (usually by fishing, catching bugs, or receiving various strange gifts from the villagers as rewards for doing errands for them).  You basically spend the game earning money and eventually upgrading your house to three levels, which you can decorate to your heart’s content.

Recently, we accumulated so much stuff, however, that we each had to make use of the third and fourth houses respectively to store all of these possessions.  I know, that’s all quite silly, isn’t it?  But we got two new houses to decorate out of the deal, and two new characters, as well.  In the end, our Crossing houses turned out so delightful (and were filled with so many rare or expensive items from our years of playing) that it seemed like it was time to share them with you all.  Now, this console is not connected to my capture card, so I was not able to take any screenshots, but I did take some decent quality photos, so here we go.

First of all, the day I decided to take photos of everyone’s houses was also the very first day we ever shot down the UFO.  We had only seen the thing once a couple days prior but were too slow to do anything about it (Twiggy was talking to me when this large shadow went by, and by the time she finished with whatever it was she was saying, I couldn’t catch up to it), so it was a super exciting day indeed when we finally got the chance to get a rare item from Gulliver, the supposedly extraterrestrial seagull.  (I, for one, am not buying his tale.)  We got a Metroid out of the deal, which went to my first character’s house, as she has a collection perfectly suited for this kind of thing.  But seriously, why did it take several years of playing to finally see the darn UFO!  What’s with that?

Claire and the crashed UFO. Gulliver's fine. I think....
Claire and the crashed UFO. Gulliver’s fine. I think….
Vanille wanted a picture with Gulliver, too. Say "fuzzy pickles"!
Vanille wanted a picture with Gulliver, too. Say “fuzzy pickles”!

Ahem, and now for the house tours.  Our town is called Oerba, and my very first character is Vanille, a character from Final Fantasy XIII who hails from a town named Oerba.  As you can see, her house has a Moogle flag and sits right in front of the river.  Or…the river sits right in front of it.  Something like that anyway.

Vanille's house, kupo! She looks rather crazy with her blue hair.
Vanille’s house, kupo! She looks rather crazy with her blue hair.

Inside, I have an Asian-inspired living room on the middle floor, along with a goldfish whom I named Peepers after my popeyed goldfish (may she rest in peace).  By the doorway, I also have some special flowers.  Upstairs was redone.  Originally it was a plain and simple bedroom, but then I got some of the Gorgeous Furniture and added a sitting room with a fireplace.  It looks much better now.  Downstairs is the gaming room, complete with almost every gaming-related item in the game (aside from those pixelated items from Super Mario Bros, which are fun, but a bit odd), including my newly acquired Metroid and even a GameCube in a shelf.  Oh, and Vanille wears a crown that cost one million Bells.  At that price, she probably should wear it forever.

Vanille's living room, including a close up of my lovely painting and katana in the back.
Vanille’s living room, including a close up of my lovely painting and katana in the back.
Above is the original bedroom and below is the room with my new Gorgeous furniture. Quite a change.
Above is the original bedroom and below is the room with my new Gorgeous furniture. Quite a change.
Here is Vanille's gaming room. Below, you can see my new Metroid. Aww, so cute...
Here is Vanille’s gaming room. Below, you can see my new Metroid. Aww, so cute…

The second character, in order of save files, is mom’s character Tess.  She lives near Nook’s shop, and her surrounding land apparently got a lot of traffic, as it has since been reduced to a barren field.  To remedy that, we have planted lots of flowers and have even given the house a flowery flag.

Tess's house is set amidst what I like to call "mega garden". It's a lot bigger than what you see here.
Tess’s house is set amidst what I like to call “mega garden”. It’s a lot bigger than what you see here.

The ground floor is decorated with Princess furniture.  It used to contain the entire set, but she decided a bed wasn’t needed on the ground level and changed it up a bit.  She also has a goldfish named Peepette (Peepers’ sister, of course), AKA Diet Doctor Peepers….  Upstairs is my favorite room of mom’s house because it has a lot of color, plus it includes our favorite couch in the game.  Downstairs originally had some Gracie furniture, but it later was redecorated to showcase some newly purchased Gorgeous furniture.

Tess's living room, complete with a rather lovely painting.
Tess’s living room, complete with a rather lovely painting.
Her lovely upstairs bedroom.
Her lovely upstairs bedroom.
The original basement, with some Gracie furniture and a cute, little Gyroid.
The original basement, with some Gracie furniture and a cute, little Gyroid.
Basement_3
Tess’s basement, with her newly purchased Gorgeous furniture.
The basement again, with a different carpet.
The basement again, with a different carpet.

The next character created was mom’s second character Claire, little sister to Tess.  She lives very close by to Tess and has a flag with a cross to celebrate our Christian-hood.  I designed it myself, and I think it looks more or less glorious.

Here's Claire's house and her delightful flag.
Here’s Claire’s house and her delightful flag.

Claire’s main floor features some Pave furniture, a set of furniture we didn’t used to like, but now we’ve realized it’s not half bad.  (Claire has since gotten a goldfish of her own named Little Bo Peepers, along with a seahorse pal named Karina.)  Upstairs is my personal favorite room of the house, the one and only kitchen in the entire game, which includes a toaster, a microwave, and some delightful citrus wallpaper.  Downstairs has several sections, a bathroom in the lower left corner, a sitting area in the lower right, and the top half of the room is dedicated to the bedroom.  As you can see, she was also able to finally make use of the few pieces of Sweets furniture she bought a while back, the couch, the lamp (which looks like ice cream), and the bed.  I like the Sweets Couch the most.  It looks delicious.

Claire's living room. It even has some rare pink roses in the corner.
Claire’s living room. It even has some rare pink roses in the corner.
The delightfully fun kitchen. The citrus wallpaper works perfectly here.
The delightfully fun kitchen. The citrus wallpaper works perfectly here.
A full view of the basement and its three sections.
A full view of the basement and its three sections.
Some close up photos of the bathroom and sitting area. I must eat that couch!
Some close up photos of the bathroom and sitting area. I must eat that couch!

The last character we created was mine, Yuna.  She lives on the beach, and I decided this was actually Vanille’s beach house (because she’s so darn rich), and Yuna is the maid.  Even though Yuna gets to live there, gets full freedom to decorate, and has little to no work, so it seems like a pretty sweet deal to me.

Yuna's lovely beach house and flower path. Her flag, not present in this photo, features a healthy apple.
Yuna’s lovely beach house and flower path. Her flag, not present in this photo, features a healthy apple.

I think I like Yuna’s house a lot more than Vanille’s.  It’s just nicer all around, probably because I was just better at decorating when I did this house.  I like putting less furniture along the walls, and I have since started breaking rooms up into specific sections.  On the ground floor is the beach room, with a small indoor pond and garden in the lower right corner and an exotic chest in the lower left corner (which I claim is where Yuna keeps her shoes, scarves, and other outdoor gear, since the game has no coat rack and the like for the entryway).  In the upper right, she has a relaxing hammock to nap in, and in the upper left is a small living room, my favorite part of the room.  Upstairs is her bedroom, complete with a semi-private bathtub and a small sitting area, including the shamrock I found one day, which appears as a book when you place it inside for some reason.  (After the pictures were taken, Yuna also got a goldfish named Mary Peepins.)  Downstairs is her piano, her sewing corner, and another sitting area.  I also have a whole bunch of special flowers I grew.

The main view of the living room. Yuna looks cute in her maid outfit....
The main view of the living room. Yuna looks cute in her maid outfit….
My favorite corner, the nautical-themed sitting area.
My favorite corner, the nautical-themed sitting area.
Here's a closer view of her entryway and her soothing indoor pond.
Here’s a closer view of her entryway and her soothing indoor pond.
Her bedroom, bathtub, and reading area. She also has her favorite argyle, the first thing she bought in the big city.
Her bedroom, bathtub, and reading area. She also has her favorite argyle, the first thing she bought in the big city.
The main view of her basement, where she sews and practices the piano.
The main view of her basement, where she sews and practices the piano.
Her indoor garden has lots of rare flowers. And in the bottom picture is the Gorgeous Stool she bought for her piano.
Her indoor garden has lots of rare flowers. And in the bottom picture is the Gorgeous Stool she bought for her piano.

And that’s all for my Crossing tour.  I like that every house, and every character, has a unique style from the rest.  It’s strange how entertaining it can be to decorate a fake house, but we had a blast doing it, so I hope you enjoyed checking them out.

The Duck is a Millionaire in the Crossing; I Wish I Was in Real Life

6 thoughts on “Animal Crossing House Tours

  1. This was neat, Duck! I really like how you have a sort of theme going for each of your rooms! Were these set ups always intentional, or did you kind of put them together and refine them as you went along in the game?

    Like

    1. Thanks for checking out our Animal Crossing houses. We sometimes had a theme in mind beforehand, but many times, we just started putting furniture in the room and rearranging everything until inspiration struck. I remember being really lost about what to do for Yuna’s basement. All I knew was a I wanted a piano and a sewing corner. And then, before I knew it, it had turned into a conservatory. It was always cool when a room came together.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. How did the HRA score those room? I’ve never managed to get a good score for a well-coordinated room. They’ve always seemed to like it better when stuff was randomly thrown around.

        Like

      2. I actually haven’t had the HRA check out my houses, but I should have them evaluate my rooms and see what kind of score I get. Usually when characters visit my houses, though, they complain that my house is missing essential furniture like chairs and tables. Which always confused me when those items were clearly there.

        Like

      3. Possibly. It’s always frustrating when the character is giving my house a low rating based on their claim that my house lacks a bed. As they stand directly in front of the bed. Sigh…silly AI.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

