Cosplay Detour: Chica’s Cupcake

For next year’s cosplay, my parents have agreed to cosplay with me, which is quite exciting.  Accompanying myself as Foxy the pirate, my dad will be the security guard from the first game, Mike Schmidt, and my mom will be a human version of Toy Chica.  Most of the parts of their costumes are store bought, but there are a few pieces of mom’s costume that must be created.  One of those is the cupcake Chica is often seen carrying.

Fortunately for me, I already had all the correct colors of fabric to make the cupcake, and I started looking up patterns.  I initially made the mistake of looking up patterns for the FNAF cupcake in particular, which got me nowhere, until I looked up patterns for cupcake plushies in general.  This got me a helpful pattern from Deviantart user “pattern-depot” on Google Images, which inspired the pattern I ended up using, shown below.  If you’d like to make this yourself, you can see I have a circle with eight “ruffles” for the base of the frosting and four heart shapes for the sides.

Turning a flower and four hearts into a cupcake. It can only be...magic.
Turning a flower and four hearts into a cupcake. It can only be…magic.

The frosting was made using the fabric for Vanille’s shirt.  Since the fabric was thin, I made each piece two layers and sewed it all together, except for one side so I could stuff it later.

The frosting...looking rather deflated at the moment.
The frosting…looking rather deflated at the moment.

The base is made using the suede-like fabric for Vanille’s bag, two circles and a rectangle.  Once I sewed this all together, I sewed the base to the bottom of the frosting.

With these three pieces, the base of the cupcake I hereby make.
With these three pieces, the base of the cupcake I hereby make.
The frosting and the base. The cupcake doesn't look very nummy yet.
The frosting and the base. The cupcake doesn’t look very nummy yet.

Next came the eyes.  The white and blue are shiny material from Rosalina’s dress, and the black is the black fleece used for the eyes of the Luma plush I made for Rosalina.  Sewing all layers together, I then sewed the eyes to the frosting.  Looking good so far.  Get it?  Looking good…  Looking…  Bad joke.

I'm watching you.... The top eye is just the pattern I used.
I’m watching you…. The top eye is just the pattern I used.
Now the cupcake has gained the gift of sight. I can't eat it if it's looking at me.
Now the cupcake has gained the gift of sight. I can’t eat it if it’s looking at me.

The candle ended up being a rather odd piece.  To make it stiff, my mom suggested sewing fabric around a straw.  We also chose some white fabric with red dots from my Kefka cosplay for the candle because we wanted something fun, like something for a kid’s birthday.  I ended up cutting out a rectangle of this fabric and sewing down one edge so it looked neat and clean.  Then I wrapped it around the straw and sewed the fabric around it.  The easiest way to sew this awkward seam was to use the new curved needle I recently bought for this kind of purpose.  Curved needles seem to make it much easier to sew flat surfaces like this where straight needles otherwise don’t work.  I then sewed the ends closed to secure the straw inside the fabric.

I think the candle is rather adorable, even if it appears to have chicken pox.
I think the candle is rather adorable, even if it appears to have chicken pox.

The flame is orange fabric from Vanille’s cosplay (it was originally used as a stripe on the yellow piece of fabric hanging from her bag) and the yellow fleece from the Luma plush.  I sewed this up and made it a little puffy by stuffing it with a teeny bit of stuffing.  This was then sewn to the end of the candle.

The flame has been added. And the cupcake is now on a teacup saucer, where a pastry ought to be.
The flame has been added. And the cupcake is now on a teacup saucer, where a pastry ought to be.

I then stuffed the cupcake’s base and sewed it closed, and I did the same with the frosting, except I didn’t sew it all the way closed.  (To get the stuffing into the eight ruffles in the frosting, it was easiest to hold the frosting from the top and push the stuffing into the ruffles from above.)  Once the frosting was almost all the way shut, I stuck the candle in the top, which was made extra long to account for this.  I then finished sewing up the frosting until I reached the candle.  The candle is not actually secured to the cupcake because it was a little difficult to do, but it should be fairly sturdy.

The completed cupcake! It looks surprised for some reason.
The completed cupcake! It looks surprised for some reason.

I think the cupcake turned out rather cute, but my favorite thing about it is the fact that it’s made from the fabric of three different cosplays.  It makes it a bit more special this way.  This is actually my second plushie, and it shall go quite nicely with my plump, cuddly Luma.  Homemade plushies are always the best.

Duck Cake

Leave a Reply

