Comicon #1 2016: Photo Tour

How do, everyone!  You’ve read my posts detailing my progress on my Rosalina cosplay, and now it’s time to see the fruits of my labor in action.  Or something like that.  I went to the first of the two comicons I attend each year, and everything went great.  People seemed to really like my costume, and I got many requests for photos and even a video clip for someone’s Youtube channel!  I’m gonna be on Youtube…again!  Yes!  If you want to read a more detailed account of my experience, please check out my post on United We Game.  And stick around, because you guys are in for something a little special, my photo tour of the comicon.  Enjoy!

I started my day nice and early, as I wanted to give myself plenty of time to get my costume on.  While the dress was quite easy, my wig was quite a pain.  I hate putting on wigs because it’s always annoying getting my hair under the wig cap so that none of it sticks out later.  It’s not a good look to have your real hair showing under the wig.  Fortunately, I’ve found a company that sells really good quality wigs for low prices, YOPO, I believe.  These wigs are soft, they fit really well, and they look real.  Seriously, could you tell that was a wig if I didn’t just say so?  And I have to say, the best part of any cosplay is the first time you put it all on and see the finished result.  I always wait until the morning of the comicon to put my costume on in its entirety because it’s so exciting to see everything come together.

Behold the power of mirrors! You can see both sides of my dress all at once!
Behold the power of mirrors! You can see both sides of my dress all at once!

When I arrived at the comicon and entered the main hall, what do I see but two more Rosalina’s some distance to my right.  It was clear they had seen me, as well, and we headed straight for each other and took some photos.  I call us “the Rosalina trio”.  Not the most creative name out there, but it fits.

Triple the Rosalina! Also, you can see Darth Vader in the back. Only comicons can mix Star Wars and Super Mario Bros.
Triple the Rosalina! Also, you can see Darth Vader in the back. Only comicons can mix Star Wars and Super Mario Bros.

I bought a bunch of cool things here.  It was a very FNAF-themed day for me, as I got five FNAF prints and a Freddy plushie to join the Foxy plush I got for Christmas.  All I need now is Bonnie, and my collection is complete (there is no Chica plush, for some reason).

Freddy from the comicon and Foxy from Christmas. I really hope they don't gang up on me in the middle of the night....
Freddy from the comicon and Foxy from Christmas. I really hope they don’t gang up on me in the middle of the night….
1% power at 4 AM... Yeah, this picture is the very definition of the word "doomed".
1% power at 4 AM… Yeah, this picture is the very definition of the word “doomed”.
A set of four FNAF prints. They haunt my dreams, but it is so worth it.
A set of four FNAF prints. They haunt my dreams, but it is so worth it.

I had to return to the car halfway through the day so I could leave my stuff in the trunk.  Since this was a fairly small comicon, the streets were pretty empty.  Let me tell you, it’s a lot more crowded during the other comicon.

Here, I lurk in the shadows. Like a bright, blue ninja.
Here, I lurk in the shadows. Like a bright, blue ninja.

The first person I saw upon returning to the comicon was Zero Suit Samus.  It’s good to know Samus enjoys hanging out at the comicon, as well.

When she's not hunting Metroids, Samus enjoys chilling at the comicon.
When she’s not hunting Metroids, Samus enjoys chilling at the comicon.

The comicon was very busy at this point, and I started having people asking me for pictures left and right.  At one point, Batman came up and asked if his daughter could have her picture taken with me.

Two princesses and a Luma.
Two princesses and a Luma.

I also caught sight of the Marionette from FNAF 2 and onward.  Spooky.

The Marionette from FNAF 2 and onward. Much less terrifying during the daytime.
The Marionette is a tad less terrifying during the daytime.

Despite buying everything I wanted at this point (aside from the Bonnie plush, but I have to save something for the next comicon), I continued to stroll about for just a while longer to check out the sights.  Here I am in front of some random booths.

Booths stretch out before me. Even my Luma looks on in awe.
Booths stretch out before me. Even my Luma looks on in awe.

Knitted things were definitely in today.  This vendor sold lots of knitted things.  In this photo, you can see a knitted Stitch and a knitted Jack Skellington and Sally.  They also had Harry Potter, among others.  They were pretty cute.

Me standing before knitted goodness. How many characters can you name?
Me standing before knitted goodness. How many characters can you name?

It was finally time to go, at last.  Once I got home, I couldn’t bring myself to change out of my costume just yet, so I took a few more pictures to remember the day by.  (I feel a bit arrogant taking so many photos of myself….)

Contemplating an awesome day and the realization that I have more pictures of myself than is natural.
Contemplating an awesome day and the realization that I have way more pictures of myself than is natural.

And let’s not forget knitted Tom Servo, whom I bought for my parents.  Because MST3K is the greatest TV show of all time.

With this new knitted garment, Tom no longer feels the biting chill of outer space.
With this new knitted garment, Tom no longer feels the biting chill of outer space.

And there you have it.  It was a really fun day, and I’m pleased that I finally got some photos of other cosplayers for once.  I always plan to, but I always forget.  Silly me.  I hope you guys enjoyed, and I can’t wait to share with you my experience cosplaying as Vanille.  Knowing people’s less than stellar views on the Final Fantasy XIII trilogy, I sure hope people will like my efforts.  She is the best character of the series, after all.

Duckalina…I Hail From the Rubber Ducky Galaxy

5 thoughts on “Comicon #1 2016: Photo Tour

    1. Thanks, I’m pretty proud of this one. It’s simple, but I think it’s my cleanest, most professional costume yet. And it’s always cool to see what kind of people I meet. I love seeing other people’s costumes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

