The One Whoopie Pie That Could

It’s kind of funny because, for the longest time, I’ve wanted to try a good whoopie pie.  They aren’t really the most exciting treat in the world.  I just wanted to try one for myself.  Problem is, they don’t usually sell them in stores, and the store-bought mix I once tried, specifically made for whoopie pies, mind you, didn’t turn out very good.  I can’t remember why.  I just didn’t like it.  Recently, a day came when I said enough was enough.  I was going to eat a whoopie pie, and there was nothing anyone could do to stop me.

Throwing caution to the wind, I…bought some devil’s food cake mix.  The last recipe I tried was no good, so why not start with something I know I’ll like.  After that, I found that the innards could be made with marshmallow cream and vanilla frosting, with the ratio being just a tad more marshmallow cream than frosting.  I bought two jars of marshmallow cream (you can never have too much marshmallow cream) and one jar of rainbow chip frosting for added fun.  I don’t know what the chips are, but nothing with rainbow in the name can possibly be bad.

Once home, I mixed the cake batter together and placed round scoops of it onto pans and got cooking.  Problem was, some small bit of…something from the tortilla casserole from yesterday’s dinner (it’s delicious, you have to try it!) had apparently gotten free in the oven, and as the whoopie pies cooked, the food burned and made a lot of smoke.  There was nothing I could do at that point but keep going.  When I got the first batch out of the oven, they tasted like smoke.  Yuck.  It’s just not meant to be, is it?

Luckily, I had just enough batter left for two more whoopie pie-halves.  By now, the smoke was gone, and these last ones came out of the oven.  I added my frosting and marshmallow concoction and gave it a nibble…and it was delicious!  At long last, I finally made a tasty whoopie pie, and if it weren’t for my oven troubles, the entire batch could have been quite special.  Now if any of you want to try this treat, you know a super easy recipe.  You don’t need any fancy recipes online or special baking mix.  Just cake mix, frosting, and marshmallow cream.  Just remember not to burn yesterday’s dinner into your oven like I did.

He's the only one that survived.... He was delicious.
He’s the only one that survived…. He was delicious.

Ducky Pie

2 thoughts on “The One Whoopie Pie That Could

  1. If you even happen upon them, I highly, highly, HIGHLY recommend whoopie pies found in Amish markets. I was lucky enough to snag one recently, and it might have been the most delicious baked good I’ve ever had. The cake was moist and very flavorful, and the cream inside was nothing less than divine. There’s no two ways about it — the Amish know something about baked goods that we don’t.

    In any event, congrats on getting one delectable treat out of your batch. I’ve done that before with bits of unrelated food burning in the oven while trying to cook something else, and the results are always sad. And the smell left behind in the kitchen is no help either.

    Like

    1. I used to go to the Amish Country in Pennsylvania back when I was a duckling, and it was then that we tried our first whoopie pies. I don’t remember myself what they tasted like, but my mom says our version was very similar to theirs. With the exception of our rainbow chip frosting, of course. I recently made another batch, and they turned out much better. This time, there was nothing burning in the oven to give it that strange, smoked flavor. I guess I should be more careful to ensure our oven is clean when making desserts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

