The Reason Elsa’s Toys Are Always Moist

Recently, my cat Elsa has begun a very strange habit.  To put it simply, she drowns her toys.  Despite having many pets over the years, I have never seen this before.  You see, starting a few weeks ago, Elsa’s jingly mouse toys have been ending up in her water bowl.  I thought she had been doing it by accident, as she likes to toss them, but it just kept happening, leading me to wonder if itwas, in fact, entirely on purpose.

My suspicions were confirmed when I saw her carry her mouse over to her water bowl and set it inside with clear purpose, where the mouse proceeded to float like a tiny carcass.  It was such a strange, amusing sight, I had no choice but to go online in an effort to discover the purpose of this bizarre behavior.  It turns out that some cats will put their toys in their water bowls because they see their food and water area as a “safe” place to keep their things.

Elsa licks her chops, unconcerned by the fact that a rodent is floating in her water bowl
Elsa licks her chops, unconcerned by the fact that a rodent is floating in her water bowl

Whether this is just a place she intends on storing them until she wants to play with them again (though, it is only rarely that I have seen her take the mouse out herself without expecting me to do it) or if I am the person she is keeping this toy “safe” from (heaven forbid I start playing with her toys), I know not.  All I know is it’s adorable and needed sharing.  You’re welcome.  And merry Christmas!

It looks as if brown mouse is dead, too. A moment of silence, please.
It looks as if brown mouse is dead, too. A moment of silence, please.

The Duck Who Hopes I Don’t End Up in Her Water Bowl One Day

2 thoughts on “The Reason Elsa’s Toys Are Always Moist

Leave a Reply

