Fairies Exist; They’re Just Called Butterflies

I had a lot of fun the other day (as of writing this, and as I usually don’t get to publishing most things until a while after typing it, this probably happened longer ago than I’m letting on) because I went to this awesome butterfly place.  You know, those places where lots of butterflies fly around in this greenhouse-type room, and people get all thrilled when butterflies land on them.  It’s a rather funny concept when you think about it, because under normal circumstances, if an insect five inches in width landed on someone, they would normally squeal in terror and beg someone to kill it.

Well, butterflies are prettier than regular insects, meaning they have more rights to live than their uglier brethren.  And so, when I decided to visit this place, I wore the brightest shirt I had to attract them, a bright yellow Super Mario Bros shirt, which should lure over both butterflies that like bright colors and those that are gamers.  With a thoroughly cunning plan in place, I arrived at the butterfly place, and the first thing I saw was a room filled with butterfly cocoons, a room which I seemed to find much more fascinating than anyone else, as I remained there long after the room had emptied out.  The cocoons were of such lovely colors, not just green and brown, but shiny golden ones, too, that I never knew about before that day.  Plus, I just enjoy watching freshly freed butterflies emerge from their cocoons.  It’s not much different from watching baby chickens hatch from eggs, another thing that is awesome.

Butterflies spending time with friends.
Butterflies spending time with friends.
A Banded Peacock, according to the booklet that came with my ticket.
A Banded Peacock, according to the booklet that came with my ticket.

After that was the room with the butterflies, the place where all those baby butters go to grow up and live happy, buttery lives.  A room which never fails to be a rather magical sight.  There were tons of the things (not literally, as it would take a lot of butterflies to equal 2,000 pounds…), of all sizes and colors and shapes, and it’s really something that is better shown than described, thus the reason I took lots of photos.

A Mexican Bluewing, according to the booklet that came with my ticket
A Mexican Bluewing, sporting both spots and stripes
A Blue Morpho, some of the biggest and prettiest there
A Blue Morpho, some of the biggest and prettiest there
I'm not sure because it's wings are closed....
I’m not sure because it’s wings are closed….

I wandered about for quite a while, just taking pictures and watching the peaceable creatures do whatever it is butterflies spend their time doing, and I stopped by the koi pond to watch the fish and ponder whether or not they were to blame for some of the more scruffy butters.

I heard goldfish are related to koi, so these must be Peepers' big brothers and sisters
I heard goldfish are related to koi, so these must be Peepers’ big brothers and sisters

Nevertheless, at that point, none of the little cuties had decided to land on me, which made me quite sad.  They’d like me if they got to know me, I thought to myself, and these musings proved to be true when I ended up in a corner of the greenhouse where the butters seemed extra friendly.  A big one landed on my shoulder, followed by a small one.  Several more came and went, as if it took the sight of one butterfly giving me a chance for all of them to accept me as their new friend.  I could even feel the large butterfly opening and closing its wings on my shoulder, the butter that remained the longest, and I stayed quite still in that spot for a while until all my new friends decided to leave, for butterflies have busy lives, you see.

The famous Monarch decides to accept me as its friend
The famous Monarch decides to accept me as its friend

Several more butterflies landed on me after that, and those that didn’t often flew close enough that I could feel the breeze from their wings.  Eventually, once I had lingered long enough, I decided it was finally time to leave, even if this decision brought me great sadness.  (My kitty Elsa would worry if I stayed away too long, so the desire to live forever amongst the butterflies simply cannot be.)  I had a great time that day, and I celebrated the experience by visiting a local pizza place that is quite delicious.  Yum!  Again, for someone who can’t stand the sight of insects, it is rather ironic I enjoyed visiting the butters so much, but I figure they are closer to fairies than bugs, which makes them okay.

The Magnificent Owl. I get the first part, but I really doubt that's an owl.
The Magnificent Owl. I get the first part, but I really doubt that’s an owl.
A Blue King Shoemaker. I wonder how it makes shoes without thumbs....
A Blue King Shoemaker. I wonder how it makes shoes without thumbs….
A Paper Kite, proving you don't need bright colors to be pretty.
A Paper Kite, proving you don’t need bright colors to be pretty.
The last butterfly photo I took, the beautiful Silver Spotted Flambeau. It looks more like a sunset to me.
The last butterfly photo I took, the beautiful Silver Spotted Flambeau. It looks more like a sunset to me.

Duckerflies

Leave a Reply

