100 Theme Blog Challenge No. 15: Silence

As I’ve said before, when I have to resort to my 100 theme challenge posts and the like, it usually means I’m low on ideas.  Usually.  Right now, I’m actually in the mood for a nice random prompt to get me writing, and today’s theme is #15…silence.  There is something to be said for silence.  The world is such a noisy place, with so many people and traffic and…leaf blowers.  Yes, even leaf blowers.  (What happened to a good, old-fashioned rake?  On second thought, why don’t we just leave leaves alone?  That was a weird sentence….)  There is too little silence in modern life, and sometimes, I feel like I’m one of the only people left on the planet that still enjoys it.

I could, if given the time, just sit for hours, with nothing else occupying my time but my thoughts.  I feel rejuvenated to just listen to the silence about me, the pure, sweet silence, while I daydream about whatever comes to mind.  I think that’s why I like writing, really, because it goes so well with silence.  In fact, it almost seems like silence and writing are meant for each other.

It is in my silent hours that ideas drift into being like leaves on a breeze.  Some of my best, most creative ideas originate in the silence, when an image or a single phrase pops into my head, and I have an idea.  It’s amazing what one can come up with when we’re not putting any effort into it.  In fact, I think the best ideas I have are the ones that come to me rather than the other way around.  I guess that’s how it needs to be, though.  Creativity can’t be forced.  Stories, in a way, are not even written.  They write themselves, and I am simply there to give them voice.

Silence.  Without it, I wouldn’t be who I am.  It fills me like a life-giving spring, and yet, so few people stop to appreciate it.  We are always too “busy”.  Life demands us to move and to never just sit still and enjoy life.  But, I won’t let the rush and buzz of modern life influence me.  No, while everyone else runs around, I’m going to be right here, with my silence.  Thinking.  Writing.  Watching the clouds or sitting with my cat.  It is in silence that we truly live.  It is what we did in the silent hours of our life that we’ll remember, and cherish, the most.

A Silent Duck

4 thoughts on “100 Theme Blog Challenge No. 15: Silence

Leave a Reply

