Rosalina Cosplay: The Wand

How do, everyone?  Not too long ago, I went down to my local fabric store and bought the main supplies I would need for my third cosplay, Rosalina from Super Mario Galaxy.  I wanted to make a fancier version of her dress, so I bought lace to go around the end of her sleeves and a fancier material for the white skirt beneath her dress, with sequins I hope will shine like the stars she watches over.  It really is quite lovely and should really add to the costume.  I also bought the material and stuffing needed to make a Luma plushie, silver paint, and some clay, which I heard works well as molds for resin.  This costume will require about five round jewels, and I decided clay would be easier to work with than making round molds from tag board.

My first project, however, was a simple one.  I wanted to start with something easy, as my Ghirahim cosplay was such a pain, and I am still trying to recover from the horrors of jamming sewing machines and diamonds and intricately-details gloves.  Sigh.  My first venture was Rosalia’s wand.  I decided to paint a chopstick silver, and then I cut out a star from my supply of craft foam.  I used an exacto knife to cut out the star shape from the center of the star, and then I ended up duplicating it and making a total of four stars for extra thickness.

My silver chopstick and my ultra messy palette, an always classy styrofoam plate
My silver chopstick and my ultra messy palette, an always classy styrofoam plate
My four foam stars; guess which one was the original
My four foam stars; guess which one was the original

The way I made it fit was by measuring the width of the end of the chopstick and cutting that width out of the two center stars, and then there is an uncut star on the top and one on the bottom.  The wand came together very easily, which was really nice, considering past projects had been such a hassle.  I super glued the stars carefully one atop the other, with the stick glued in its proper place, then, painted the star gold, and there you go.  A wand.  Very simple to make, but it looks very neat and clean.  Next step, the crown.  I will be using about the same method as with Ghirahim’s bracelet, with one main change.  I heard it will keep its shape if you paint it with glue….  We’ll see how it works.

The result of careful super gluing; also, my camera flashes too much
The result of careful super gluing; also, my camera flashes too much
The completed wand, imbued with the most potent of duck magic
The completed wand, imbued with the most potent of duck magic

I Would Have Preferred to Put a Foam Duck on the End of the Wand, But I Suppose That Makes Less Sense

4 thoughts on “Rosalina Cosplay: The Wand

Leave a Reply

