A Little Picture Tour of the 2015 Comicon

Hello everyone, as you may remember, if you’ve been reading my posts regularly, I have been preparing for the better part of the year for my second cosplay, Lord Ghirahim, the villain of The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword.  Well, the big day has finally come and gone and, well, I actually wrote a very detailed post about my experience over on United We Game, so if you want to read in depth about my experience, that’s the place to go.

It was a fun day, despite many trials.  My makeup was constantly cracking and rubbing off.  My sash wouldn’t stay on.  And I was quite achy from hunger (I was dieting), a sore back, and sore feet.  It was a day of pain.  So much pain.  Nevertheless, I was able to somewhat forget my aches and pains thanks to the day being filled with a grand total of 27 people either complimenting my costume or asking for pictures of it (that’s right, I counted), including three people who wanted to actually be in pictures with me, which was pretty cool.  No one had ever asked to be in pictures with me at the comicon before.  And so, to supplement my detailed post on UWG, I want to use this post as a place to share photos and videos with you in a summarized tour of my day.  (I really wish I had taken more pictures of other people’s costumes, but my phone doesn’t work when I have gloves on, so taking photos was difficult.  Hopefully it’s not weird my pictures are all of me….)

So, that morning, I got up and got dressed.  Which took about two hours.  Yikes.  Leading me to believe Ghirahim either has a great deal of patience when getting dressed, or does so with magic.  On the other hand, he has no need to put on his hair, and his skin is just naturally that way, so…  Never mind.  Leave me alone.  Ahem, so, when I got to the comicon, I first needed to park in the parking garage at my hotel, after which I then proceeded to walk down four flights of stairs.  This was killer on my costume, as was running about the convention center looking for the desk to sign in before prejudging, which was originally supposed to be on the second floor, but got moved to the first.

After signing in, I was approached by Link, the protagonist of my respective game.  He was very nice, and he was also the first person to ask for a picture with me (the second to ask for a photo at all), despite the fact that, as you can see in the photo, my sash and earring had fallen off thanks to running up and down stairs.  Nevertheless, I suppose being Ghirahim, I was still quite stunning, regardless, and we got our picture taken together.  My sash and earring can be seen on the sign-in desk.

The comicon, a place where heroes and villains can set aside their differences
The comicon, a place where heroes and villains can set aside their differences

After that, I fixed up my costume in the bathroom, and then I spent a couple hours walking around the big, huge hall with all the vendors.  It was here that I bought several Zelda posters and received one for free due to wearing a Zelda costume.  (What do you mean “costume”?  I AM Lord Ghirahim!  I’ll still take the poster, though, thank you very much.)  And here’s a picture of two of my new posters up in my gaming room.  The white one with Zelda was my free poster, and the one on the right with Midna and Majora’s Mask was another.  The other posters were from previous years.  I got a third Zelda poster, but I don’t have a photo of it.

The FF13 poster probably feels a bit awkward on this wall...
The FF13 poster probably feels a bit awkward on this wall…

The coolest thing I got, however, was a resin Majora’s Mask, carved to look like old and worn wood.  I got a huge discount on it because someone had dropped it and broken off one of the horns, and after the guy attached it back on with resin, you could see some excess on the top.  Hopefully sandpaper can be used to get rid of the extra resin like he said.  Nevertheless, it is still a beautiful mask and looks exactly like that from the game.  It’s also far more delicate than it looks.  Huh, I only got Zelda stuff that day, didn’t I?

I just hope my cat doesn't get her paws on this. I'd hate for her to be responsible for the moon falling.
I just hope my cat doesn’t get her paws on this. I’d hate for her to be responsible for the moon falling.

After that was the prejudging, a long and tiring affair where we sat in a room for a full hour before anything even started to happen.  Grr.  I was quite nervous to talk to the judges, even if they were quite nice, and they asked me why I chose the character I did, and I said it was because Ghirahim is interesting and seems like a fun character to perform as.  (And spoiler alert, he was.)  Once that was over, I cleaned myself up again, and then I got some more pictures of myself to share with all of you.  If you look closely, you can spot a character from Dragonball Z in one of the photos.  Telepathic cookies if you can tell me who it is.  They’re not as tasty as real cookies, but that’s all I can do.

A grand light illuminates the stunning features of the Demon Lord. Oh, and a bipedal tiger walks by.
A grand light illuminates the stunning features of the Demon Lord. Oh, and a bipedal tiger walks by.
I have no idea how to snap my fingers. But, I'm pretty good at pretending I do.
I have no idea how to snap my fingers. But, I’m pretty good at pretending I do.
My mere presence cleared this once crowded hallway. Because I'm scary like that.
I re-use poses.  Because I believe in recycling.

Several hours later was the masquerade.  We spent about 30 minutes to an hour before it started waiting in a dark corner behind the stage rather than in a green room, which was far less comfortable, but at least we got to see the performances that came before us on the screen behind the stage.  When it came time for me to perform, I was strangely not nervous at all.  I just went on and did my performance as planned, involving poses from Skyward Sword and Hyrule Warriors.  I got lots of cheers, even more than with Kefka, and I had so much fun on that stage.  I just put all my energy into it, and I think I did pretty all right.

Video from Youtube User: Blao9

I know I'm gorgeous, but please try to contain your excitement.
I know I’m gorgeous, but please try to contain your excitement.
I stick my tongue at you. Not that you can tell. Because of the wig.
I stick my tongue at you. Not that you can tell. Because of the wig.
I chose a really good spot to sit in the audience, didn't I? And you can see Medli from Wind Waker in the back. Yay, a fellow Zelda cosplayer!
I chose a really good spot to sit in the audience, didn’t I? And you can see Medli from Wind Waker in the back. Yay, a fellow Zelda cosplayer!

There were many great performances at the masquerade, and now I want to share with you some of my favorite.  One great costume, and someone I had seen last year just walking down the street, was Frankenstein.  He got third place in the novice category.  Third place.  That’s how fierce the competition was.  It was a really awesome costume, and when he was announced only as third place, I just knew I stood no chance at winning.

Video from Youtube User: Blao9

I saw this girl walking around the main hall before I saw her in prejudging.  I love her costume.  It’s really beautiful, as is her makeup.  I present to you the lovely La Muerte!

Video from Youtube User: Blao9

One of the winners of the master category…so you know they’re awesome…  This is Rocket Raccoon and a big tree named Groot.  Poor Groot had a hard time getting down the steps, but he did it eventually.  The detail on his “bark” was really nice.  Even up close, it looked really neat.  The raccoon guy was cool, too.  I don’t know how people make costumes like that.  It looks hard.

Vide from Youtube User: Blao9

And so I don’t have too many videos on my page, I’ll just provide links for the rest (except for the last one).  First off, Claptrap from Borderlands.  He couldn’t get on stage, but he did get to perform over by the exit, for everyone’s enjoyment.  I didn’t get to see him at the masquerade because everyone was standing up to take pictures, but I did see him during prejudging.  I also thought Victorian Vaporeon’s dress was beautiful and a really creative take on a Pokemon costume.  There was also an amazing choreographed performance from Mulan.  It was no surprise when they got Best in Show.

And my favorite, Foxy the pirate from Five Nights at Freddy’s.  His eyes could blink, his ears could move, and he could open and close his mouth.  It was really cool.  Now, when I looked up what game he was from, I was absolutely terrified.  That is the scariest game of all time, and I’ve played Slender: The 9 pages….  He deserves a video for cosplaying as an animatronic, in an actually animatronic costume.  So here it is.

Video from Youtube User: Blao9

With the day at a close at last, I returned to the hotel room, but before I took off my makeup, I got a few last pictures.  Even if it makes me seem really self-centered.  But hey, it took me two hours to get that costume on.  I was getting pictures of it, darn it!

A bed fit for a Demon Lord. Even if hotel pillows are always absurdly thick.
A bed fit for a Demon Lord. Even if hotel pillows are always absurdly thick.
Come hither. I don't bite. I only have a habit of licking people. And what is that a photo of behind me?!
Come hither. I don’t bite. I only have a habit of licking people. And what is that a photo of behind me?!

And so ended an amazing day.  Next year’s costume is going to be Rosalina from Super Mario Galaxy.  For once, I’m not going to be a villain.  I look forward to making a plushie version of a Luma to carry around.  Yay.  I hope you guys enjoyed, and I hope next year’s costume can be something worth sharing, as well.  Bye now!

Duck Lord Ghirahim

2 thoughts on “A Little Picture Tour of the 2015 Comicon

Leave a Reply

