The Duck Tries Butter Beer

I like trying new recipes, and just this past year, I have made a whole bunch of things I have never had before, such as my delicious pumpkin soup, squash soup, and the delicious meat pie called a tourtiere.  I also love trying recipes from books and video games, and today’s recipe might be one you’re more familiar with.

Some time ago, I tried sea salt ice cream, a rather strange concoction I first heard about in Kingdom Hearts 2.  It was all right, but very salty, and I can’t say I’ll ever want to try it again.  And then, just a few weeks ago, I decided to create another treat I learned about from fiction, the butter beer from the Harry Potter series.  I really wanted to try it at the park in Orlando, but seeing as I am not able to visit the place anytime soon, I thought the next best thing would be to make the stuff myself.  I looked up recipes for butter beer, the non-alcoholic, young witch and wizard-friendly, variety, and I found a site listing the five most accurate recipes.  Of course, #1 seems like the obvious pick, but instead, I ended up going with #2 because I found the many spices in this recipe to be rather appealing, and it involved less butter, for fewer diabolical calories.

Butter beer turned out to be very easy to make.  I merely mixed vanilla ice cream, brown sugar, butter (who would have thought, butter beer actually includes butter, but not beer), and various spices, froze it, then spooned the mixture into a mug (it simply must be a mug, though all I had were coffee mugs, not those naughty mugs people use for booze) and poured in some vanilla cream soda.  It ended up being quite a nummy treat, and for whatever reason, the ice cream reacted with the soda in such a manner that it became very foamy at the top.  I ended up liking this far more than my attempts at sea salt ice cream, and now you can try it yourself by using the link above.

Butter Duck

One thought on “The Duck Tries Butter Beer

Leave a Reply

