The Top Songs from DKC2

One of my favorite series from the olden days was Donkey Kong Country on the SNES, a trilogy that spanned from 1994-1996 (remember back when games from a series were released yearly?).  My favorite game of the series, and of the SNES in general, was Donkey Kong Country 2.  It was super fun.  You got to play as Diddy and Dixie on the island home of the naughty Kremlings.  And there were pirates.  What could possibly be better than that?  Nothing.  And now I present you with my top ten songs from one of my favorite games of all time.

10. “Krook’s March” is played in castle levels. As usual, I’m bad at explaining songs, but suffice it to say that it just goes really well with some of the most difficult levels of the game.  Oh, Toxic Tower, your cruelty knew no bounds.

9. “Forest Interlude” is a rather pretty song that plays in the spooky forest levels. Just listening to it, it definitely makes me feel like I’m in a dark forest at night.  And I’ll never forget those freaky ghostly ropes….

8. “Bayou Boogie” plays in the swamp levels, and I just love how it incorporates the sounds of bugs and splashing.

7. “Donkey Kong Rescued” is played during the credits once DK is, you know, rescued. I always love the ending credit themes.  They’re epic.  Just listening to the song makes me sad, though.  It reminds me of finishing the game.  Always a sad experience when you’ve just beaten a great game.

6. “Lockjaw’s Saga” is played in the sunken ship levels. It does a great job to get across how dangerous these levels are, largely due to the creature the song is named for, the piranha Lockjaw.  I don’t remember how many times I’ve screamed at the sight of that thing trying to chomp me.  The sound of the water is a nice touch.

5. “Mining Melancholy” is an ingenious song that incorporates the sound of pickaxes to give the song a nice beat, along with the, for lack of a better word, melancholy voices later on, like the miners themselves (“miners, not minors”, and if you can tell me what movie that came from, I will award thee with a hug) joining in. It’s just awesome.

4. “Crocodile Cacophony” is played during the final battle against Kaptain K. Rool, who was always the coolest version of K. Rool, I thought. It is an epic song perfect for this battle.  (I just don’t know what that annoying buzz is in the background.  I don’t remember it when playing the game….)

3. “Stickerbush Symphony” is a surprisingly beautiful song played during the very annoying bramble areas. The horrors I endured in these levels. At least the music made it worth it, even if I always pondered why these brambles appeared to exist in the sky.  How terrifying.  This version is by far the best.  The remake in Super Smash Bros Brawl did not do this lovely song justice.

2. “Snakey Chantey” and “Klomp’s Romp” are very similar, so I included both.  They are both super fun songs played on pirate ships.  (They are also quite fun to play on the guitar.)  The first one is happier and includes part of the Gangplank Galleon theme from “Donkey Kong Country” at the beginning.  The second one has a lot of creaking noises from the ship, which is pretty cool.  (I think I like “Klomps Romp” better because of all the ship sounds and its slower pace.)

1. “Jib Jig” is played in the rigging of the ships and has wind and rain noises during it. I also love playing this one on the guitar.  It’s awesome!

Ducky Kong

4 thoughts on “The Top Songs from DKC2

    1. That is a strangely beautiful song indeed, considering it’s played in a frightening tangle of thorns in the sky. The version in Brawl was quite lovely, too, but I’ll always prefer the original. The originals are always the best.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You read my mind Duck, all of these tracks are excellent; Stickerbrush Symphony, Forest Interlude, and Jib Jig in particular! Though if I were to make a top ten for this, I would probably have replaced a couple of these with Disco Train and In a Snowbound Land. I’m not sure which I would replace though, they’re all so good. Great list!

    Like

    1. Thanks much! I can’t get enough of DKC2. The game’s twenty years old now, and it’s still one of the best, music included. I definitely think this game had the best music of the series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

