I’m Thankful for Soup

Even though it’s not a meal.

Okay, so this post is late, but all my posts are late…um, lately, so whatever. I can do what I want. I’m a duck. So, Thanksgiving, a holiday where people partake in turkey, whether or not they actually enjoy consuming the flesh of the chubby and flightless bird. Well, as I just said, ducks don’t follow the rules, so I didn’t have any turkey this year. For Thanksgiving, I mean. I did have some yummy turkey sandwiches throughout the year, but I don’t think that counts. In fact, I didn’t have any meat for my Thanksgiving dinner, as I decided to do something different this year. Which is very different indeed for me, as I do so enjoy eating delicious pieces of animals.

But, alas, despite my great love of yummy critters, I just ate soups for this Thanksgiving. That’s right, soups. I had three different kinds, corn and potato chowder, my pumpkin soup from Halloween, and squash and pear curry soup, all while watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade, which was quite fun. I made the corn chowder in a crock pot, while the rest was made on the stove, along with some delicious stuffed eggs and some rolls on the side. To summarize my meal, the corn chowder was awesome because the potatoes were so absurdly soft. I mean, it was ridiculous how soft they were. The pumpkin soup was the same as I remembered (psst, I added nutmeg even when it wasn’t in the recipe; don’t tell the police I broke the rules a third time), and the squash soup tasted like a sweeter version of the pumpkin, and while it smelled like curry, it wasn’t spicy. Still good, just not spicy. Which made me a tiny bit disappointed, but everything was so tasty, that made up for it quite nicely.

Then, of course, there’s the dessert. I made a pumpkin bundt cake, complete with orange frosting and green frosting leaves and vines. It actually turned out a bit tasteless, but it was all right, and I prevented it from becoming oily like the reviews said by taking their advice and using applesauce instead of oil. Here it is below:

A plump pumpkin cake
A plump pumpkin cake
This is after it inexplicably doubled in size
This is after it inexplicably doubled in size

And I had fun with some hardcore “Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal”, which is still just as awesome as ever.

So, how was everyone’s Thanksgivings? What kind of nifty things did you eat?

A Soupy Duck

2 thoughts on “I’m Thankful for Soup

  1. I love non-traditional holiday meals! There’s no reason to always have turkey and stuffing and all that rich food every year. Also, there’s nothing like a warm bowl of soup on a cold day. Your soups sound really tasty. Recipes…? 🙂

    Like

    1. They were quite good. I’m just not a fan of stuffing and mashed taters and cranberry sauce, nor am I a fan of a huge hunk of meat. It was quite a fun meal, and I am making the corn chowder again for Christmas, to have with my goose. I’ve never had a goose before. I hope it’s not weird.

      Let’s see, I bet I can find those recipes again…
      Squash and pear soup
      http://allrecipes.com/recipe/curried-butternut-squash-and-pear-soup/
      Corn chowder
      http://damndelicious.net/2014/09/12/slow-cooker-potato-corn-chowder/
      Pumpkin soup
      http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/pumpkin-soup-recipe3.html

      Like

Leave a Reply

