Two Years Squared Equals What?!

Wow, it’s already that time again (I’m actually not that surprised, really, as this was a rather long year, but I’m still enthused, nonetheless). It is, once again, the anniversary of my blog (is it just me, or does this seem to happen every year?). What’s it been now? Four years? Well, a lot’s happened over this past year, not all necessarily blog-related, but it’s still worth mentioning. This has actually been a rather stressful year for me, with lots of unhappy things that I won’t be mentioning. Fortunately, this was also a year filled with a good deal of excitement, which is far more suited to sharing.

To start, I have now been blogging over at “United We Game” with Cary of “Recollections of Play” and Jacob/Hatm0nster for about a year now (UWG’s anniversary was actually not that long ago, so I guess blogs are typically born in summer). In just a short time, UWG has been growing like crazy thanks to the hard work of my fellow administrators and our lovely contributors, and I look forward to many more years of blogging with all of them. (In fact, we’ve already been interviewed over on “Wrong Button Blog”, if you want to check it out.) And if you haven’t already checked UWG out, then come on by for a visit. And while it was a terrible year for pets, as this was the first year in my entire life that my house was completely lacking in cats, I did get a new pet, an adorable pop-eyed goldfish named Peepers you may or may not have read about already, so that somewhat helped to soothe the anguish.

I also gave up on art around the beginning of this year, but to make up for it, I have instead been working hardcore on my true passion (after video games), writing. And I wrote a novel. Seriously, I did. The only thing is…well, you see, it’s a fan fiction novel. So I guess it doesn’t really count as an official novel, but it does still count as an absurdly long thing that I wrote, nevertheless. Chapters are still being published weekly over on fanfiction.net, and it should end up being over 200,000 words once it’s all done. I’ve also written about a dozen short stories, as well, and I’m rather proud to say that I think my writing has seen noticeable improvement since I started writing fan fiction about a year ago. And if there’s any chance you might want to check out my stories, the link to my profile is here. Thus far, I have written for: “Jak and Daxter”, “Ratchet and Clank”, “The Legend of Zelda”, “Kingdom Hearts”, “Final Fantasy XIII-2”, and “Final Fantasy VI”. So, if you’re a fan of any of these things and like fan fiction, why not check it out. I really can’t think of a reason not to. Can you?

This has also been an exciting year for gaming and things related to gaming. To be honest (it would be weird not to be), I’ve been less than impressed with the newer games being released as of late, so I decided this would be a fine time to look backwards and see what games from the past I had missed. And so, for a surprisingly affordable price, I ordered from Amazon a bunch of old Squaresoft games, “Final Fantasy 4-9” (except for 7, which I already had) and “Chrono Trigger” and “Chrono Cross”. As you may remember, I wasn’t a big fan of “FFVIII”, but I had a great time with “FFVI” and I found that the game’s villain, Kefka, really is as awesome as people say (despite being as evil as they come, but he’s not real, so it’s okay to like him…I think). I also had some trouble getting into “FFIX” at first, but I’m starting to really enjoy it now, as well.

And then came a lot of firsts. With a new favorite character and an upcoming comicon, I decided to make my very first costume of all time, with the help of some patterns one grandma had sent me years ago and some mediocre sewing skills, and I also decided to enter my very first costume contest, which also required me to perform on stage for the very first time. And when the day of the comicon arrived, I had the most wonderful time of my life. I’ve never had so many people asking for my picture before, nor have I ever had people cheer for me before, either. It was such a wonderful thing, like the highlight of the whole year crammed into one day. (But, you should already know about all of this, because I put up a post about it here and on UWG.)

I had a pretty busy year, didn’t I? And that wasn’t the only thing that happened. This blog has also grown in that time, as well. In fact, I have recently surpassed 200 followers and am now at a total of 207. Pretty awesome, eh? I also have had a total of 17002 views and have published 320 posts, and I have no plans on stopping anytime soon. That’s right, I will be spamming your inboxes with new posts for years to come. You had no idea what kind of commitment you signed up for, did you? But, there’s no need to bore you with any more stats than that. Suffice it to say, this blog becomes more and more successful each year, and it’s exciting to think about what the future may hold. World domination may not be so far off, after all.

So for year number five, I will continue writing more of the usual, and I will likely be writing more about my new costumes and future comicons and other such things, as well. And I’m also going to continue seeing how much of a dent I can make in my 100 theme challenge posts and my 30 day game posts, the latter of which is clearly taking much longer than 30 days. (My goal is to get them done within 30 years. I can probably manage.) And of course, I must thank my dear readers, followers, commenters, etc. for taking the time out of your schedules to indulge my narcissism and read my pointless, little posts. You make me happy, and without you, these last four years would’ve been rather empty indeed.

Four Years of Attention Isn’t Enough to Satisfy the Duck

8 thoughts on “Two Years Squared Equals What?!

  1. Happy birthday, Duck! This blogging year has turned out to be rather crazy, hasn’t it? So much to do and so much to write about. Considering that lots of blogs don’t make it out of the first year, four years is a very happy achievement, indeed. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks much! Yeah, it has been a pretty crazy year, which only makes it that much more interesting. I do hope this next year is a little less crazy, though. Last year was a little bit too crazy in some ways….

      And while I don’t know how successful my blog has been in these years, what matters is I’ve been having fun working on it, and I can only assume people have had fun reading it. I think this blog is mildly entertaining.

      Like

  2. Wow, Duck, Happy Birthday! Hope you had a fab cake and oodles of quacking ducks and ducklings to celebrate your special day. My gift to you is a large loaf of cinnamon bread – Enjoy!! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

