Day 8: Best Video Game Soundtrack

Today, I return to the 30 day game posts with day 8, the topic of which is the best video game soundtrack.  I thought long and hard on this one, and I decided I’m going to cheat a little bit and choose two games that I think have the best soundtracks because they are so very similar.  These games are the fantastic and unique “Rayman Origins” and “Rayman Legends”, two amazing sidescrollers that are not only a blast to play, but have wonderful soundtracks, as well.  Now, as I’ve already written posts on my top songs from these games, I’m not going to focus on my favorite songs for this post, but you can check them out if you’d like, here and here.

What I am going to focus on in this post is another reason why I think these games’ soundtracks are so delightful, and that reason comes from how unique and varied they are.  There is such a nice variety of songs in these games, and what stands out to me most of all is how different many of these songs are, as well.  One thing that I am just so impressed about with these games is how Ubisoft is obviously not afraid to try new things, both in gameplay and in music, and I commend them for that.  And while some of the music in this game can be rather odd, that’s what makes me love it so much.  They have songs with whistling, songs with gibberish lyrics, and even a song where it sounds like a guy making noises like a frog.  And so for this post, I wanted to share with you all some of these unique songs, some of which are in my top ten for each game, some of which are not, but there is one thing they all have in common, and that is the fact that they are all different.  And so, without further ado, I have listed them below, in no particular order.

Remember the song I mentioned that I said sounds like a guy going ribbit like a frog?  Well, I could not find a video with just the song, so instead I settled with a video that shows the gameplay for the level in “Rayman Legends” where this song takes place.  You can hear it during the first 50 seconds or so.  Weird, huh?

Video from Youtube User: SplitPlaythru

“Nowhere to Run” plays in the Land of the Livid Dead, and it is one of my favorite songs from “Rayman Origins”.  It includes whistling and vocals, and even the undead chime in at one point.  What’s not to love about such a song?

Video from Youtube User: Soniman001

“Lums of the Water” is from “Rayman Origins” and is a particular all-time favorite of mine.  I find the vocals in this song to be absolutely adorable.

Video from Youtube User: Soniman001

“Fiesta de los Muertos” is an odd song from “Rayman Legends” that starts off sounding like people munching on crunchy food, but it really gets started around 0:50, and not long later, there are vocals and whistling, and I couldn’t help but find this song quite relaxing to listen to.

Video from Youtube User: Soniman001

And a particularly great song and a fitting grand finale for this post, Ubisoft’s version of “Black Betty” in the “Rayman Legends” level “Castle Rock”.  Oh, how I’ve come to love songs with gibberish lyrics.

Video from Youtube User: Soniman001

And there you have some examples of the super different music found in these two games.  Not only are they a lot of fun to listen to, but they are something you’ll be hard pressed to find in any other games.  It is Ubisoft’s ingenuity in composing video game music that makes the “Rayman Origins” and “Rayman Legends” soundtracks my favorite ever.  I just can’t wait to see what they do with the next game.

Fiesta de los Ducks

6 thoughts on “Day 8: Best Video Game Soundtrack

Leave a Reply

