Anna, Yuki, and Helen

Those aren’t the names of people, though.  They are the names of a few instruments I’ve been trying to learn.  That’s right, I name my instruments.  Anna the piana (I know I spelled it wrong).  Yuki the ukulele.  And the little harp looks like a Helen.  (I can’t figure out a good name for the guitar).

            I like instruments.  Strangely enough, I am not a fan of most music, yet I like instruments.  There’s such a variety, and they make all kinds of different sounds, and sometimes it is fun to try to learn how to play a few songs here and there on different instruments.  I have gotten pretty decent with the guitar (I can’t figure out the timing of music or anything like that, but I at least know what dot corresponds to what string), but I still have a few other instruments I have a decent amount of trouble with.

            Out of the three named in the title, I am the best with Anna.  Remember, the piano.  Problem here is, there are so many darn keys.  You have to have an entire thing of notes for the right hand and the left.  I don’t know the word for it.  The thing with the five lines the notes go on.  The guitar requires one.  Anna has two. Yeah.  I got the right hand just fine, as those notes are the same as with the guitar, but the left hand eludes me.  It’s not the same as the right.  Not in the slightest.  The middle line is no longer B.  It is, I forgot.  But, I can’t remember both.  It’s impossible.  So I can play okay on the right side, but when I get to the left, I have to hunt for a while until I find the right note.  I mean, the left note, or something.  You can’t play a song with a minute gap between each note.  And this piano book came with stickers with the letters only.  That is meaningless to me.  So I got a bunch of slips of paper with the lines with the dots on them and used the stickers to hold the paper on the keys so I know what dot goes to what key.  And then there are these three little pedals at the bottom that I never use.  (And I still haven’t taken off the things they left on for protection, so it looks like Anna is wearing socks, which you’d think would be cute, but it’s actually creepy.)  I like Anna, though.  She’s fun to play, and the notes on the far left sound positively sinister.  She’s just difficult.  At least I’ve gotten pretty decent at such songs as the organ music that plays in the haunted church in “Banjo-Kazooie” and the Song of Healing from “The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask”.  Now it sounds like when the Happy Mask Man is playing it.  Which should be bad, though, because he’s really creepy.  Ahem, rambling.  Also can play the “Winnie the Pooh” theme because, why not?

            Yuki (ukulele) gives me even more trouble.  Just four strings (though the book decided to leave out one), but I am used to the guitar, so I end up reading the notes as if I’m playing the guitar, and I get all messed up.  And she won’t stay in tune.  I must constantly use Anna to tune her for me, then, by the next day, she’s completely off again.  Darn, Yuki, it’s like ADHD for instruments!  Plus, I found that not many songs sound right on the ukulele.  I can play the Gelato Beach theme from “Super Mario Sunshine”, though.

            Helen is even worse.  What a disobedient child she turned out to be.  It took a long time to figure out what strings were what notes, and she won’t stay in tune, either.  Once again, I must use Anna to tune her, then before you know it, out of tune again.  To make matters worse, I really can’t remember what strings are what notes when trying to read the music, and you can’t do sharp notes or flat notes, so the songs I can play are quite limited.  I’m a fan of sharp notes.  Sharp notes are great.  But, Helen won’t do them.  Because Helen’s stupid.  Stupid Helen.  I can’t really play a thing on her.

            So instruments are hard.  Really hard.  I doubt I’ll ever fully get most of mine figured out.  I’m never even trying the flute or ocarina again.  Now those are really impossible.  Plus the ocarina hurts my ears.  The flute might, too, if it would even make noise….

Duckulele

3 thoughts on “Anna, Yuki, and Helen

  1. Guido the Guitar maybe?

    I absolutely agree with your piano assessment. In music class for high school, my name refused to work harmoniously. As I am left-handed, it dominated while my right hand mimicked exactly what the other was doing. Probably why I changed to brass.

    That you can play multiple instruments at all is a great effort =)

    Like

      1. I don’t know how to ever get my hands to work together. They work just fine on string instruments, but on the piano, they just won’t cooperate. I can only do one hand at a time. I have this book of “easy” “Zelda” music, and I can’t do any of it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

