Video Game Character I’d Most Like to Hang Out With: Mario Series

Just recently, I have teamed up with several other bloggers (which I secretly have been calling the Q-Force after Captain Qwark’s team in “Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal”, well, it’s not a secret now) for the purposes of world domination getting more views to our blogs.  Those other bloggers are the authors of My Two Caps, Recollections of Play, and Planet Zombo (the last of which is not doing this post, though, as it doesn’t fit in with their blog).  We have decided one method of making our blogs just that more awesome would be for each of us to write some posts on one single topic.  So that’s what I’ll do.  Are you ready?

            Our first topic is which character would we most like to hang out with.  The characters we decided to pick from are the well-known characters from the “Mario” series, Mario, Princess Peach, and Luigi.  I am going with the “Paper Mario” versions of the characters myself because I feel those games show the characters’ personalities a lot more.  And they’re adorable.

            So ahem, time for my choice.  The character I’d most like to spend my time with would be Princess Peach, but like I said, the “Paper Mario” version.  Whichever princess you’re talking about, Peach is a sweet and kind person that I’d enjoy being friends with.  And she even manages to be a princess without being a spoiled brat, which earns her a thumbs up AND a gold star.  But, I like the “Paper Mario” version best, for several reasons.

            Paper Peach, while still being the victim of frequent kidnappings, is a stronger person in the “Paper Mario” series.  No longer does she sit back and wait for someone to save her.  In this series, she manages to find ways to make herself useful and actually assist Mario, whether it was from Bowser’s flying castle in the sky or from the X-Naut Fortress.  She repeatedly managed to escape from her room and investigate in “Paper Mario”, and in “The Thousand-Year Door”, she was able to talk to the computer TEC and even disguise herself as an X-Naut.  In “Super Paper Mario”, she actually escaped from Count Bleck’s castle and didn’t need to be rescued.  In this game, she helped Mario with his adventures.  She may often be a damsel in distress, but in her very adorable and very thin paper form, she can be much more helpful than many other distressed damsels.

            And there’s one more very important reason why I like Peach.  The players once had her make a cake in “Paper Mario”.  While that ended up being a much harder task than it should have been, I still like a character that makes cake.  I like cake.  It’s good.  We would both make cakes and have great times.

            Now as for why I didn’t choose Mario or Luigi, Mario was the first to get marked off my list.  While I like him in “Paper Mario” a lot more than in the regular games (once again, paper people are adorable), Mario has always, well, creeped me out.  I’m not sure exactly what it is.  It could be his bizarre, stumpy proportions.  It could be his terrible fashion sense.  Overalls, and red and blue?  What were you thinking, Mario?  It could also be some deep-seated hatred stemming from how difficult the old games were and how stupid Mario slides when he lands after a jump, resulting in much of the crying and yelling I directed at the old games.  I know that’s not the same version of Mario, and I shouldn’t blame poor paper Mario for the crimes of his non-paper version, but I can’t help it.  I’ve been wronged by that other Mario too many times to trust this one.

            And then there’s the issue of Mario’s mushroom addiction.  It’s no secret that the somewhat plump plumber has been addicted to mushrooms for a couple decades now, an issue that even appears in the “Paper Mario” series.  He is so desperate for the stuff, he’ll even eat those useless dried ‘shrooms!  He’s out of control!  Do you see the amount of ‘shrooms he consumes (rhyme) in each of his games?  No one loves mushrooms that much unless something more shady is going on.  That’s why everything has eyes, even the clouds and other parts of the scenery.  You’re hallucinating, Mario!  Admit it!  Just admit you have a problem.  You have people that care about you.  Not me, but Peach and Luigi.  Yoshi, too.  Get help.  And I’m not going to help you find any more coins.  You’ll just spend them on more ‘shrooms.

            As for Luigi, I don’t mind him as much as Mario, but I still couldn’t choose him.  Nothing against him, really.  Not really, really.  But, he seriously needs to grow a spine and stop being a wimp.  And step out from the shadow of his younger brother.  Seriously, Luigi, Mario is shorter than you, how’d you even end up in Mario’s shadow in the first place?  Oh, it’s a figure of speech.  But, honestly, do something more with your life, Luigi.  And stop wearing the same clothes as your brother!  It’s creepy.  Maybe it was cute when you were children or something, but you’re a grown man, for crying out loud!  Once Luigi gets some semblance of bravery or self-confidence, I’ll consider being his buddy.  But, for now, Peach and I are going to eat some cake.

            And now that you’ve read my thoughts on the subject, why not check out the other two posts.  Cary, like I, chose Princess Peach, focusing on the Peach we see in “Super Mario Bros. 2”, whose ability to float using her dress showed her appreciation for properly functioning knees (it does make sense, read the post).  Peach is a sensible lady like that.  My Two Caps chose our good, old hero, Mario, who may not have as much concern for his knees, but is still someone who gets to go on all kinds of adventures and never complains about always having to save people (*cough* Peach *cough*) time after time.  Mario certainly has the more interesting life of the three.  As for Luigi, well, no one chose him.  Sorry, Luigi.  If it makes you feel any better, I did think “Luigi’s Mansion” was fun.

 The Duck Who is Eating Treats With Princess Peach

5 thoughts on “Video Game Character I’d Most Like to Hang Out With: Mario Series

    1. Oh, yes, Mr. L. I forgot about him. (“Super Paper Mario” was awesome, by the way.) But, I still don’t know if he can bake like Peach can. Perhaps I’ll change my mind if Mr. L bakes me a cake. Unless Peach then decides to wear a mask and bake a cake.

      Like

Leave a Reply

