Nine Years of Doing the Drawing of the Pictures

Behold and be vaguely impressed!
Behold and be vaguely impressed!

I have two goals in this post.  One, to wish you all a blissful Christmas!  And two, to show you something I’ve been wanting to do for years.

            So behold!  This picture chronicles the artistic achievements of the duck, from 2004 to 2012.  I found pictures in notebooks and sketchpads and on the computer and put them together in the approximate order of which they were done.  Below each picture, I gave the name of the character or whatever’s pictured and what they’re from.  Many are fan art, but some are my own original ideas.  (The hearts and smiley faces are there because that’s what I draw next to doodles I like.  Hearts beat smileys, in case you’re wondering.  Frowny faces show up next to stuff I find mediocre.)

            The 2004, 2005, and most of the 2006 pictures were drawn on just about anything because I wasn’t so serious about drawing back then.  They were done in this weird sketch pad type thing I had (that had basically printer paper in it), in a notebook, and that ottsel at the beginning of 2006 was actually done on those cover sheets that come on top of loose leaf paper.  The last picture in 2006 is when I finally started drawing in an “official” sketch pad.  That’s when you can say I decided it was time to get serious about drawing.  So no smiling.  We’re being serious now.

            All the way through 2007 and the first half or so of 2008 I was doing nothing but drawing in these sketch pads.  I mainly drew the same thing over and over again for long periods of time, starting with a zillion floating heads of Organization XIII members from “Kingdom Hearts”.  Finally, when I was sick of that, I started doing a bit more variety, such as characters from “Donkey Kong” games and the “Kirby of the Stars” anime.

            Finally, I decided it was time to try Photoshop.  The rest of the pictures are done on there, starting with the picture in color in 2008.  Back then, I still would draw things in a sketch pad (and sometimes ink them) and scan it onto the computer before coloring it.  My coloring wasn’t as good back then because I didn’t have a tablet, and thus had less control over my coloring.  The first picture here, I believe, that was done with the tablet is the picture of Asajj Ventress in 2009 (not my first picture done with the tablet, just the first included here).  She was also my first attempt at a picture that had no outlines in the end.

            After that, I just kept on doing the same thing, doing all my pictures fully on the computer.  Some of my methods changed as I learned new skills, and I slowly got better.  There are various pieces of fan art and also designs for original characters for my comics.  Vincent Valentine in 2011 is my second attempt at a picture with no lines, and I think it’s greatly improved over Ventress.  You can also see some improvements specifically in my two pictures of Gretchen in 2009 and 2010 and my two pictures of Maia in 2010 and 2012.  I included a small bit of the final draft of my artist comic in the very last panel, a picture of Margo from page 2 of issue 1.

            This was a very fun thing to make.  It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time, and perhaps someday I’ll do a new one.  While I will mainly be working on my comics now, I still want to do other things, too, sometimes.  I definitely want to continue fan art, at least.  I loves the fan art.  I’ll just be a lot more picky on what I do from now on so as not to slow down my comic progress too much.  Anyway, I hope you find this picture interesting.  I know the pictures are small, so please click on it to make it bigger.  (You used to be able to give it a second click to make it even bigger, but it looks like they changed things.  Sorry if it’s small.  You can always make the screen bigger, in the lower right, if you use Internet Explorer at least….)

The Duck Who Is Proud to Have Risen to the Status of “Moderately Okay” Artist

4 thoughts on “Nine Years of Doing the Drawing of the Pictures

  1. Happy Holidays to you too, Duck! So interesting to read about your journey…well done…and I’m going to leave a smiley face and a heart (if it gets through…alas, am not very clever with technology you see) – 🙂 ❤

    Like

    1. Thank you. Yes, I see your smiley face and heart. I think that should replace the like button. People can give me a smiley or a heart for each post. But not a frowny face because frownies aren’t nice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

