Feeding the Gulls

Just a poem illustrating my experience with feeding seagulls.

Seagulls flying.

I throw out crumbs,

Old Wonder bread,

And they come.

 

Swooping, screaming,

Piercing cries.

Pointed beaks

And beady eyes.

 

More arrive,

Competition.

They chase away

The new addition.

 

More and more,

White, everywhere.

Wingtips brushing

By my hair.

 

Terror, wide eyes;

They’re all around.

Flapping and screaming,

The only sound.

 

Heartbeat racing,

This isn’t fun.

I drop the bread

And then I run.

Sea Duck

8 thoughts on “Feeding the Gulls

    1. That reminds me of years ago, when my parents and I were eating at a restaurant called the Conch House in St. Augustine, FL. It’s outside, by the water, I believe. We decided to put out a little bit of food for the birds and were promptly told by the people working there to knock it off or else the birds would come and steal food from off our plates.

      Like

  1. Haha, Duck, I loved the poem, especially the last line! My favourite stanza is:

    Swooping, screaming,
    Piercing cries.
    Pointed beaks
    And beady eyes.

    Well done, Sea Duck! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

