Draft 2 of My June Comic is Done

I was really lazy with my June comic for a while.  I got really distracted by “Final Fantasy VII” and stuff, plus I was running out of ideas, but now I’ve suddenly come up with new ideas and am making major changes to my comic.  After a lot of work, I’m finally done with draft 2.  Huzzah!  This is now the farthest I’ve ever gotten in any story ever.  (I usually quit once draft 1 is done.)

            So when it comes to the changes, one thing I did was I really changed the role of June’s brother.  He was lame.  He’s taking the place of another character now.  He’s still her brother, but he just has a much different part.  Also, I’m trying to make June less obnoxious and less passive.  She was lame, too.  Not as lame as her sibling, but still lame.  I’ve also…added the tiniest, teeniest, most infinitesimally small love story.  I’m usually not a fan of such things, but I think it helps with the story.  It’s so very tiny, though.

            I also gave the characters better reasons for doing things, and I also worked on streamlining things a bit.  No more needless traveling because I can’t think of something plot-related.  I did more with the characters so they aren’t so pointless, and now there should be more plot and actual things happening.  I tried harder to fill in the gaps with interesting things and expanded more on certain things.  The story now makes more sense and what the characters do is more believable.

            So I’m really excited about the new changes.  I think the comic is way better now, but there are still parts I’m having trouble with.  But, we’re getting there.  Draft 2 took me from 7/28/11 to 12/30/11, 156 days.  Draft 1 took a little over 9 months.  I was faster this time!  I’ll get to Draft 3 no earlier than 2/10/12.  Since my comic was written in chunks, not in order, when I get to draft 3, I’m going to put the pieces together in order, then fix them up, fill in the gaps, and fix any plot holes.  I’ll be getting pretty close to having the script done by the end of draft 3, I think.  Aren’t you excited?  I am.

A Drafty Duck

2 thoughts on “Draft 2 of My June Comic is Done

Leave a Reply

