Ratchet is Going Commando

I finally beat “Ratchet and Clank: Going Commando”, the second in the series.  I first played it 6 or 7 years ago, and I got stuck in the last required flying area and couldn’t finish it.  But, this time it wasn’t so hard.  It took about 3 weeks to finish.

            In this game, a thief has stolen the Protopet from Megacorp, and it’s up to Ratchet and Clank to retrieve it.  Or so you first think.  But, as the thief’s identity and the Protopet’s purpose are revealed, a whole different story unfolds….

            I very much enjoyed this game.  It has some changes that I think make it better than the original.  This game is even funnier than the last one, for one thing.  At least, I think so.  You can also level up your weapons and get extra health by defeating enough enemies, which I like.  There are also flying areas, but I don’t like those.  I’m not good at that stuff.  You can also get skill points in this game, which allow you to unlock little cheats, like there’s one where you can make Ratchet look like a snowman or get a huge head.  That’s all I got, so I can’t tell you more.  (I only got 5 skill points.  I think there are 30.)  You get skill points by completing certain tasks.  There is just a phrase and a location, and you have to figure out what you’re supposed to do.  For 1 skill point, you must get all the crystals in the desert, and for another, you must get all the moonstones in the snowy place.  I managed to get all of those, which was hard.  (Darn you, sasquatches, darn you!)  I also got the “impossible” skill point which, as it turns out, is actually quite possible.

            One fun thing about “Ratchet and Clank” games is that you can get lots of awesome weapons.  I love the Mini Rocket.  And the Seeker gun that homes in on enemies.  Those were pretty awesome.  I also like the Sheepinator, which is good for turning a bunch of small enemies into sheep without wasting ammo.  It can work on bigger enemies, except they usually shoot you, so it’s better to just shoot back.  (Remember the mini sheep I mentioned in “Final Fantasy XIII”?  Probably not.  Well, finally I find another game with cute, little sheep.  Not as cute as the “FFXIII” sheep, but still cute.  Well done, Insomniac.)

            I also like that there are “Jak and Daxter” references in this game, which I think is because Insomniac and Naughty Dog, the creators of “Jak and Daxter”, work together with some things or something.  I found “Jak and Daxter” posters in one world, and Jak and Daxter can be seen on the TV in Ratchet and Clank’s apartment.  Also, one time when you get a piece of the Hypnomatic, there is the little song that plays when you get a Power Cell in “Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy” and Clank does a dance just like Daxter does.  Thank you, Insomniac.  You make me happy.  Naughty Dog actually put less “Ratchet and Clank” references in their “Jak and Daxter” games.  What’s the deal, Naughty Dog?  You really are naughty.

            There is a funny thing I wanted to mention.  In one of the first levels of the game, a swamp level, I was walking along, and I saw someone calling for help.  They were sticking out of the muck, and I ran to their rescue like a valiant bipedal steed, but he was pulled under.  I failed him.  May he rest in peace.  Then, alas, I found another poor soul in need of rescue!  He was standing there with small beasts around him.  Surely I could rescue this unlucky bloke.  So once again I ran, wind in Ratchet’s large ears, to the aid of this fellow sentient being.  I was almost there, and then the little monsters surrounded him and devoured him.  My daring rescue was not to be.  May this other poor soul rest in peace, as well.  The third victim was also in the swamp and got pulled down by something with tentacles.  I’m a terrible hero.

            Anyway, I’d also like to add that I read about a place called theInsomniacMuseumand decided to check it out.  In Boldan, there’s a fork in the path with three enemies early on.  Go left, and on top of the fountain thing is a teleporter.  But, you must be there at 3 AM.  Of course, I’m not going to get up that early in the morning, so I changed the PS2 clock to 2:45 AM and got to the teleporter with 5 or so minutes to spare.  I ended up in a room with a bunch of enemies, whom I dispatched, and then after using one more teleporter, I was there.

            The museum, as you might have guessed, is named after the company that made the game and has things related to this game and the previous one.  There are things that were taken out, including 2 things that weren’t included because of squirrels with hacksaws, apparently.  Hmm, that sounds scary.  There was also some type of water they were originally going to use, but it used too much memory.  There were also two places where you could change how things looked, like how an explosion would look or a shot from a gun.  And after using the Electrolyzer in one area, I opened up another area that they apparently used to test Ratchet’s jumping ability and such.  Apparently, he can’t walk up anything steeper than 45 degrees.  Good to know.

            Oh, and just in case you were wondering, I don’t hate Ratchet in this game.

Ducket and Clank

4 thoughts on “Ratchet is Going Commando

  1. I played the original R&C years ago, but never this one. It sounds like a blast. Congrats on finally conquering it. Why can’t there be more hours in the day and less work? Or maybe just less work generally? Only then will I be able to play more games.

    Like

    1. I also played the original, a few months ago. It was fun, but I just liked this one better. No amount of work can stop me from playing my games. But, of course, less work would be very nice. Or preferably, no work. Then, the world would be a happier place.

      Like

  2. For the Ratchet and Clank series, Going Commando and Up Your Arsenal are tied for my favorites. To be fair, Up Your Arsenal should probably have the spot to itself but Going Commando was my very first Ratchet and Clank game, and the third game I got for my PS2 (after Kingdom Hearts and JAK II), so…yeah. I too loved how Naughty Dog and Insomniac used to reference each others games more during the PS2 era, it made you wonder what they’d do next.

    The Insomniac Museum for Up Your Arsenal has to be my all time favorite unlockable for a game followed closely by the Going Commando one since it had better music and that testing track. I remember trying everything I could to get to the top of that room but never could.

    It’s nice to see that there’s others out there who really enjoyed these games as well.

    Like

    1. This was my first Ratchet game, too. I actually have Up Your Arsenal (which is a great title), but I bought it used and in not great shape, so I don’t trust it in my PS2. I really need to buy a copy that’s in better condition so I can play it. But, I’ve been lazy. When I do, I must find the Insomniac Museum in that one, too.
      Thanks very much for liking this post and for subscribing, by the way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

