The Time Has Come

I missed it by a day, five years ago.  I got to the game store, and they said that it had sold out the day before.  “Check K-Mart or Target,” they said.  I did, and it wasn’t there, either.  I checked Amazon.com, and it was too expensive.  So I waited and waited.  I’m not quite sure what I was waiting for, but I waited for 5 years.  And finally I got tired of waiting.  What I’m talking about is “Final Fantasy VII”, which is believed to be one of the greatest games of all time.  I’ve seen “Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children” and beaten “Final Fantasy VII: Dirge of Cerberus”, but I have never played the original.

            After beating “Dirge of Cerberus” just recently, I opened the case to the Playstation 2 remake of “Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories” to play for the first time.  I had opened the case before, but I didn’t notice the little paper in there.  This time, though, I read it, and it said “Final Fantasy VII” was available on the Playstation Network.  I did some research and saw that I could download the game to a Playstation 3 or Playstation Portable.  Not having the former, I decided to download it on the latter.  It was only $10, but I ran into some trouble.  I went onto the Square Enix site on the PSP like the paper told me, but I couldn’t find where to go.  I tried going straight to the Playstation Network, but that didn’t work, either.  And to make matters worse, the PSP kept insisting that it was low on memory, forcing me to stop my Internet searching, when I don’t see why it would be.  I don’t even know if we were both thinking of the same thing actually.  But, I finally gave up.

            But, not completely.  While I was excited to finally play the game I had wanted most for so many years, I was disappointed to only get to play it on a handheld.  I find consoles much more fun, and a TV sure beats a tiny handheld screen any day.  And it would be nice to have the original discs, case, manual, and all rather than just a download on a memory stick or whatever the PSP uses.  So with my PSP being uncooperative, I checked Amazon.com again.  Buying it new was a bit expensive, but I found it used, in “like new” condition for $40 plus shipping.  It seemed that either the prices had gone down, or I was just really cheap 5 years ago.  So I bought it.

            The game is for Playstation 1, which I don’t have, but it will play on my Playstation 2.  Plus, I need a Playstation 1 memory card, but years ago, a friend had mistakenly bought me a memory card for the PS1 rather than the PS2, so I have that, too.  I can’t wait to play.  It arrived today, an hour and a half ago.  Finally, my long wait is over.

A Super Excited Duck

4 thoughts on “The Time Has Come

  1. That’s great news! I’m a big fan of ps1 games, have never actualy played the final fantasy series but a friend of mine is a super fan of them, and VII is his favorite 🙂 Hope it was worth the wait. enjoy!

    Like

    1. Final Fantasy is already awesome as it is, but when I heard of the best one ever made…I needed it so badly. It certainly was worth the wait. Best $40 I ever spent. I wanted this game so much, I’m still a little in disbelief. (looks at it) Yep, it’s really here. I’ve rarely been happier than I am now.

      Like

  2. I use google chrome/linux- mint. But can also go up on windows 7 now to play city-history-war games you need windows xp 2000 and w 7 includes it. Rome and Greece and Egypt from 15 years ago.hey a 62 year old retired history teacher must live in his world

    Like

    1. I’ve played games like that a little bit in the past. I played one that I think was in Rome, and you build a city, but my city caught on fire, and it would not go out, no matter what I did. And it kept spreading, too. Poor tiny game people. It must have been frightening for them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

