When I Tried Something New

Look, mom, no lines!

I have some “art” that doesn’t fit into any of my categories or isn’t good enough to show off, so I thought I’d put some of them here, in some posts.  So here’s an older one that’s not too painful to show off.  It’s Asajj Ventress from some Star Wars thingies (and is property of Lucasfilm), including the Clone Wars cartoons.  Like Grievous, she was cooler in the original than she is in the current one.  This is my first finished picture that has no outlines.  Not something I’m going to try very often, but I don’t think it looks too dreadful.  Just somewhat dreadful.  But not overwhelmingly so.  And it’s old, so yeah!  I hope it’s not too close to a picture I saw once.  I tried not to make it similar, but who knows.  I’m too lazy to go find the picture.  If it is close, I’m sorry.

The Lineless Duck

8 thoughts on “When I Tried Something New

  1. Keep experimenting. I’m trying to combine different mediums. The manipulation of forms and materials and style can be as artful as the art itself. May I print and keep under the glass of my desk? I really like this, Duck.

    Like

    1. Yes, different styles can indeed be artful. I think with my style, I’ll just stick with things with outlines. I’m going to try doing a picture with different colored outlines next, though, and see how it looks. I found a better way to do it. Yes, you can print this. I’m glad you liked it so much!
      And thanks for liking this post.

      Like

  2. I like this a lot! I’ve never tried something like this. Remember, most of the time you’re the only one who thinks it is dreadful. The rest will either like it or not really care.
    Do what you enjoy, enjoy it yourself and so will others.

    Like

    1. Thank you. That is good advice. I’ll try and remember it. We all should try not to be so hard on ourselves. Perhaps I should try this again someday.
      The last thing you said reminded me of Jhonen Vasquez, who did some very strange comics, but he said he was going to do what he wanted, and it didn’t matter what others thought. Luckily for him, people did end up liking his work.

      Like

  3. This seems quite difficult to do but you’ve done a great job. i agree with thysleroux
    , you should give yourself more credit! If I did this, I’d be showing it off like hell 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

