Bringing the Confusion to a Whole New Level

You know that comic I mentioned a while ago?  I’m still going to do it.  Yeah, it’s going to take forever.  And the script has been moving along at the pace of a turtle with a ball and chain attached to it.  And I’m still not good at drawing yet.  But, I still plan on doing it.  And to aid in this difficult project, I read “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Creating a Graphic Novel” by Nat Gertler and Steve Lieber because I am, indeed, a complete idiot.  And gosh, I didn’t think making a comic (excuse me, graphic novel) would be easy, but wow.  If you self-publish, you must pay for barcodes?!  What the quack!

            Making comics is such a confusing and difficult process, and there are so many things to consider.  For example, there are different types of files you need for different projects and you sometimes need to color using RGB and sometimes CMYK. I also learned about letting art “bleed” (which sounds morbid, but isn’t) and whatever trapping is.  And to complicate things further, I don’t even know exactly what I’m doing yet.  They want CMYK coloring for printing, but I thought they want RGB for web stuff, so which do I do if I want perhaps both?

            There is so much more I have to learn.  I wish I knew more about what I was going to do.  I don’t know if my comic will ever get published, or if I’ll not even try to publish it and just put it on the web.  Or if both is an option.  How do I color it, what files do I save it as, who should I go for printing if it doesn’t go on the web?  I’m glad I got the book, but I’ve gotten myself rather confused.  There are so many options.  But, I’ll work my way through it.  It was a very helpful book….it just made me even more confused than I already was.

A Confused Duck

6 thoughts on “Bringing the Confusion to a Whole New Level

Leave a Reply

