Another Super Galaxy

Oh, happy day!  Another thing to add to my list of “Completely Unimportant Accomplishments”!  I finally got all 242 stars in “Super Mario Galaxy 2”!  I had to look at a guide to figure out how to get 2, but 240 out of 242 without help isn’t too bad, right?  The game took me a few minutes less than 42 hours (not including the hours that didn’t get saved because I had no accomplishments to save in the first place) and slightly over two months.  The first game only had 120 stars, and I got all of them, too.  I think that game was harder, though, or maybe I’m just better now.  No, the first game was probably just harder.

            So Princess Peach was kidnapped once again by Bowser, which is getting pretty silly, if you ask me (and you should).  This is what, the 20th time?  She must be getting used to it by now.  She spends about as much time at home as she does in Bowser’s clutches, it seems.

            Anyway, there are minor differences, but I’d say the game is pretty similar to the first.  The biggest differences are that you can sometimes ride Yoshi and play as Luigi.  Yoshi can eat enemies and also certain foods, such as a spicy pepper that makes him run like mad.  It’s rather amusing.  It’s fun to play as Luigi, too, probably just because we’re always stuck playing as Mario.  The two are hardly different, though, except I hear that Luigi can jump higher.  Good for him.

            One new thing worth mentioning is cloud Mario, which allows Mario to make up to three cloud platforms by spinning.  (These clouds have smiles on them, and no wonder.  Cloud Mario makes me happy, too.)  There is less spring Mario, I think, which is good because that was annoying and hard to control.  And seriously, how unrealistic.  In real life, Mario would have had severe brain injuries, bouncing on his head like that.  And then, he’d be in the hospital, and it would just be sad.  No one wants hospital Mario.  Well, there’s Dr. Mario, but that’s not the same.

            I don’t think they made as much use of the motion as they did in the last game, but whatever.  At least, you don’t have to chase the bunnies as much.  I hated that.  So much.  They still have two of those annoying ball areas, though, where you hold the remote upright to have Mario stand still on the ball, then tilt it to make him move.  I suffered through those with plenty of complaining.

            Anyway, there are a lot of stars in the game, and the last is positively dreadful.  Just dreadful.  I kept dying a zillion times, which made me madder than a hatter at an unbirthday!  Which is pretty darn mad, I’ve heard.  It took me about a week to finally get it.

            And while there are no mini sheep in this game, either (I know, weird), there are still some very cute things.  The cutest things are the bees.  Compared to real bees, I guess they’re enormous and would fill all who gazed upon them with absolute terror, but in the game, they’re adorable, with their toothy smiles and fluffy collars and the cute sounds they make.  Not as cute as mini sheep, but still a fine competitor.  Well done, Nintendo.  Done well.

Super Duck Galaxy

6 thoughts on “Another Super Galaxy

Leave a Reply

