I Waited Over 358 Days for This

My unrestrained sinning knows no bounds, and so I finally gave in and got a Nintendo DS about a month ago.  I said I’d never get one, but then I started wanting oh, so badly another Kingdom Hearts game.  This is another oddly named one that I heard about at the same time as “Birth by Sleep” called “358/2 Days”.  I don’t understand the 2 part.  Anyway, I waited four years for it, but then I found out that I didn’t need to wait as long as I did, as it came out over a year ago.  It was a little hard to find, but I managed to get the last new copy at a game store.  I felt pretty proud of myself.

            It took me about 35 or 36 hours to beat the game, and now I rather miss it.  The game shows us what Roxas was up to when he was with Organization XIII (a group of people with no hearts and thus, no emotions), plus there is a 14th member named Xion that apparently has some connection to Roxas and Sora.  (After saying her name wrong for quite a while, I finally found out it was somehow pronounced Shee-own.  Okay.)  The story is actually interesting, despite already having an idea of what goes on with the characters.  (At least, I already know who dies and when, that Roxas leaves the Organization, and that something must eventually happen to Xion.)

            This game is a bit different from the others since you just complete various missions throughout random worlds rather than just exploring and completing each world one at a time.  Sometimes, you have other members of the Organization to help you (except in some cases with Demyx, who is a lazy slob and keeps leaving me to fend for myself).

            They also have this panel thing that kind of bugs me.  You have to put almost everything in panels or you can’t use it.  You have to actually put level-ups in panels to get stronger, install moves such as roll or block, and so on.  And you also put in magic or items.  You can’t change these things in the middle of a mission, so if you need something, you have to quit the mission or just, you know, deal with it.  And I very much hate that in each mission, you can only use magic or items the amount of times you installed them.  To use something many times, you have to fill up a bunch of panels with it.  It’s like the cards in “Chain of Memories”, but luckily, not as horrible.

            Speaking of horrible things, there were a bunch of Heartless that really, really annoyed me, too, like those ghosts in Halloween Town.  They appear behind you and grab you, which drains your health, and then when you escape and turn to attack them, they fly away.  I also hated the big dogs and the evil ice cubes in Beast’s Castle.  Darn those dogs, with their woofing and their biting!  And those annoying ice cubes that can freeze you.  I know ice cubes don’t sound very menacing, but you try fighting a herd (or is it gaggle) of vicious, Heartless ice cubes.  And don’t let me get started on the fat Heartless.  Oh, my gosh.  Now they don’t just have armor on their bellies, but everywhere!  Everywhere but their beady, little heads.

            Besides Story Mode, there is also Mission Mode, where you can play through different missions from the story using a bunch of different characters, including everyone from the Organization, plus a few other characters you can unlock.  Assuming that you guys must really care what I think about this, I’ll tell you.  It was fun to play as different characters, but most are pretty weak.  It saddened me that Xigbar was super pitiful, and even Xemnas, the Organization’s leader, wasn’t as awesome as he should’ve been.  The best character by far is Saix.  He’s much stronger than all of them.  He’s the toughest dude with long blue hair and pointy ears you’ll ever see.  I’d almost be willing to bet on that, if I was a gambling duck.

            Despite my complaints, it was a good game.  I wish they’d stop spreading Kingdom Hearts out over every console, though.  That’s getting a little old.

358 Ducks

4 thoughts on “I Waited Over 358 Days for This

    1. I’ve considered writing things for a video game magazine, too. Maybe I should. Unfortunately, I’m often behind in games and by the time I write about one, it’s no longer new. I’m about a year behind in the games I’m currently working on.

      Like

  1. Hello, Multiple Ducks. I think you should add more game-type tags to your posts if you want more gamey readers. I have never gamed and I find your posts interesting, imagine what a gamer would think. Just my little opinion, don’t mind me.
    Hope all is well, all is just ducky, in your world. Game on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

