JTHM

I used to hear some strange things about “Invader ZiM”, one of my favorite TV shows.  There were these angry mothers complaining that the show’s creator, Jhonen Vasquez, made very violent comics, such as “Squee” and “Johnny the Homicidal Maniac”, so people shouldn’t let their kids watch the show.  And I’m not here to argue (though, “Invader ZiM” was nowhere near as violent as the aforementioned comics, so what does that really matter?).  But, that was what got me curious about said comics.  Really, who here did not immediately take notice of “Johnny the Homicidal Maniac”?  With a name like that, one must, at least, check it out.  Who can ignore the call of a comic with such a bizarre name?  No one.  That’s who.

            Yet, these comics proved to be hard to find.  Probably not a surprise.  Finally, my uncle got me issue 3, and when I started reading it…  So weird.  And the swearing.  And…oh my…the violence!  Such…oh…dear…  And maybe I’m a terrible person, but I started getting into it, and I read more and more and had to order the book that included the entire series.  But, even though it was the “Director’s Cut”, the small “Meanwhile…” comics were missing, but they were in the complete “Squee” graphic novel, so of course, I got that, too.  Good times.  Or bad times, depending on how you look at it.

            But, they were pretty hilarious comics, and I loved Jhonen’s style and his little side notes throughout the whole thing.  (I feel odd calling him by his first name, but it’s the only thing that sounds right.)

            Also, I just love being able to tell people that I have “Johnny the Homicidal Maniac” comics.  It takes a while to say, but I can’t use the initials.  It must be the whole thing to get the effect.  Or I could shorten it to JT Homicidal Maniac.  Still gets the point across.

Ducky the Obsessive Water-fowl (DTOW)

2 thoughts on “JTHM

  1. Howdy, Duck! Ivan is a big fan of Invader Zim. I haven’t seen much of it. Right now he is heavy into the “Invincible” comics, do you know it and/or like it? I want to get him a bunch of those for Christmas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

