Uncanny

Is it uncanny in here or is it just them?

            I know it’s even more off-topic than usual, but there is something I saw recently that disturbs me.  Down to my soul.  People call it “Uncanny Valley”, but it’s not a place.  Ever seen computer-animated humans that almost look real?  Kind of like in “Polar Express” and definitely in “Beowulf”.  It’s creepy, right?  The more realistic, the more creepy.  But, that’s not all.

            What I saw were not only pictures of these fake humans, but videos of robots that look almost exactly like humans and move and talk pretty much like they’re real.  I don’t know exactly what makes it so creepy, but…it just is.  It’s truly chilling.  Now if they had realistic duck robots….

The Duck is Scared

One thought on “Uncanny

  1. Dear Duckster: Nothing new here. I am sure you’ve encountered “plastic” people as I have all the time. Others have a butt made of lead, an ego made of brass, some a will of iron and far too many with brains of sawdust! My three grandchildren are the “gems” of my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

