Novel Draft 2 Has Begun

So I’ve recently started draft 2 of my novel.  I’m marking parts that should be fixed with black, good parts with blue, (so I’ll leave them be), and red for parts that are really bad.  Then, I’m making small fixes right in the notebook and bigger fixes on a separate page.  There are 385 notebook pages, and so far I’ve done about 21.  Still a lot left, but we have some big problems to fix in parts.  It is satisfying once I clear up a big issue and make the story run smoothly again.

            As I go, I would also like to expand on the characters, give better detail, and so on.  In “On Writing”, Stephen King says to make the second draft shorter, but the way I write, I think it’ll be better to make it longer.  When I first wrote my novel, I figured it out as I went along and sometimes just had to write whatever and struggle through some hard parts.  This time, I can see the whole story at once so I know what sections need erasing and where it needs fleshing out (which is a creepy phrase, but it works here).

            After that, the story should be pretty much “complete”, and by that, I mean the extra details will be added, plot holes fixed, and so on.  So I can really fix it up in draft 3 and then get ready for typing the final draft.  Huzzah!  I hope to have some poems published by then so people will be more likely to consider the novel, too.  I won’t let all this hard work go to waste!

The Duck of Draft 2

Leave a Reply

