How I Started Writing

I haven’t been writing quite as long as I’ve been drawing, of course, but it makes little difference.  It seems to me that writing naturally improves with age more so than drawing does, and I certainly have improved a lot.  When I look back at the things I wrote many years ago, they are just silly.  I wrote several stories, some through to the end, some unfinished, but they mainly all consisted of people traveling across wide areas.  That’s all I could think of for fantasy stories.  They always had to do something that was really far away.  One story was three little “books” worth of this.  And to add to my already lacking skills, I just didn’t know how to make them very long, and I didn’t like the characters, either.

            I did try to send one in to publishers, though.  Somehow I must have liked it at the time, for whatever reason.  Obviously, no luck.  And my hopes of becoming a novelist soon faded away.  I didn’t care anymore.  I couldn’t write well enough anyway.

            And then, just for fun, I wrote a story I actually liked.  That I still like.  I mentioned it in an earlier blog, the one I started redoing.  That one had a sequel that wasn’t too bad, either, (and then I started another one that was not very good and not really related to the first two at all, which I didn’t finish).  It was funny, back then I enjoyed killing off almost every character.  I even killed one character, then brought her back, then killed her again.

            Anyway, since the first two stories, the first especially, weren’t too bad, I decided to redo the first one.  As I said, I started getting lazy.  I skipped parts that I didn’t feel like doing, then, just stopped altogether.

            And then it was that dream that gave me the idea for my current one, which is now about 58,000 words and almost done.  First, I read Stephen King’s “On Writing”, and then got started shortly afterward.  I don’t know what happened, but I am much more determined to finish my stories now.  Especially now that I know I can write something novel-length.  It may not be really long, but it’s a novel, and I’m satisfied.

            I’m also working occasionally on poems, but the novel is my main goal.  After that, I will likely take a break from novel writing for a little bit and work on more poems and short stories.  I have a small list of ideas.  We’ll see.

            By the way, I finally put my avatar up.  And I’m starting to draw up some of my comic book characters.  Perhaps I’ll show you some time.  Wouldn’t that be grand?

 An Indeed Duck

7 thoughts on “How I Started Writing

  1. Just thought I’d stop by and let you know I’ll be watching. But you already knew that.
    To be topic related: I love your writing and can’t wait to read your novel! 😀

    Like

      1. The only reason I have one is cause I really wanted one. But I want to put something I’ve drawn up. Maybe anyways. If I can find something that fits.

        Like

      2. It’s not so much the size as something I could draw that goes with my username. Like all I can think of drawing is a full eclipse. Which would be a black circle. I shall find something to conquer my lame-ness. Eventually.

        Like

Leave a Reply

