A Little Art History

I’ve worked sporadically (that’s right, I said sporadically) on drawing my whole life, but never as much as I do now.  I remember it as if it was a while ago.  Apparently I even drew things when I was very young, but what I’ve seen from my babyhood are horrific, nightmarish things.  What was going through my pea-sized mind?  Who knows, because I don’t remember that far back.

            The earliest I do remember right now was drawing all these silly Donkey Kong and Banjo-Kazooie characters because it’s what I liked at the time (and still do) and because I saw fan art of the characters on the Internet.  I wanted to draw things like the fan art, but I eventually gave up when they kept turning out unsatisfactory.  What sort of quality can you expect from a child, but I had high expectations.  And so I gave up.  I know, silly thing to do, and I wish I hadn’t.

            But anyway, that’s not the end to my un-inspirational tale.  No, as I said before, I realized, gosh, golly oh crap (forgive my swearing), but I really wanted to learn how to draw.  Like, really.  So, like I mentioned before, I started just copying pictures.  I copied concept art and some screenshots from games, mainly from Jak and Daxter and Kingdom Hearts.  It didn’t start off great, but I improved.  A lot.  My copies were becoming near perfect to the originals.  And I tried my hand at colored pencils, too.  Started looking rather good after a bit of practice.  I was quite proud of myself.

            So one day, a few months shy of four years ago, I decided enough copying!  I wanted to draw my own things!  I started drawing humans (Kingdom Hearts characters, mostly) sometimes in my notebook.  Terrible things.  But, when I started drawing in my new little sketch pad, it felt official, so I started drawing more and more often.  The drawings still weren’t good yet, but I finally improved as far as I could for the time being and went on to draw a whole variety of things.  And then about a year and a half ago, I realized once again I wasn’t getting anywhere anymore, so I started making pictures to draw on Photoshop.  I started sketching with an actual purpose in mind.  And now, I can finally draw decent people, and I’m working on getting better.  The hard work certainly paid off, and I just recently figured out how to draw a whole bunch more expressions, too.

     So I guess it’s never too late to start something you care about.  And I got this photo reference book recently, so watch out world!  The duck doesn’t need to do poses in front of the mirror much anymore!  Some of those poses were hard to hold.  And draw at the same time.  Ow!

     Oh, and I’m on sketch pad #12 now.  In case you were wondering.  And I added a picture to the top today.  It’s the Ducky!  Yay!

 The Duck that Draws, Indeed

One thought on “A Little Art History

Leave a Reply

