Now About my Art

When it comes to my art, I like to draw people and creatures, but not usually locations.  Actually, I’m pretty neglectful about drawing locations.  They are only seen in backgrounds behind the characters, if that.  I need to work on that more.  I also do a lot of fan art.  It’s fun, and I’m trying to challenge myself with more difficult and dynamic poses now.  Just finished a picture of Midna from The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess.  She’s so cute.  I’m bad about drawing mainly female characters, though.  I need to practice guys more.  Soon, though, I’m going to make a logo and an avatar for this site.  Can you guess what critter it will be?

            When I taught myself how to draw, I started off copying a lot of Kingdom Hearts and Jak and Daxter concept art, which really helped and is why my drawing style is kind of the Americanized version of manga.  But, a little different.

            When I started going beyond sketches, I used to draw things with a pencil and scan it to color on Photoshop, but now I draw it directly on the computer with my tablet.  Tablets are a must-have if you do computer art.  Oh, my gosh, it makes things so much easier!

            And just because I do my art on the computer doesn’t mean most of it is done using fancy computer tools.  Mainly, I draw by hand and color by hand, though I recently tried using some textures Photoshop has.  I don’t want to do that by hand.  Yawn.

            I’ve read books on doing art on Photoshop, but I find that they use such complicated methods for things.  I like to keep things simple.  Maybe my fireballs and lightning don’t look as good as theirs yet, but they look good enough and are much easier.  I also never really understood using a lot of layers.  Or using separate layers for the shadows and normal color.  I color it all on one layer (unless I need to smudge something, such as fire, then, I use a new layer) and shade by hand.  I don’t know, maybe I’m missing out on something.  I also color shadows by hand, but that’s partly because I’m having trouble figuring out drop shadows.  It just doesn’t do it.  I mostly learned motion blur, at least.

            So I’m still improving and still need improving, but I’m working on it.  I’m trying to challenge myself and draw in my sketch pads almost everyday.  I have a log of work ranging from almost 4 years ago, and it’s great to see how much I’ve improved.  I used to not be able to draw people or bodies at all.  I still need to work on snouts, beaks, and hands and feet, though.  Beaks are just brutal.  Those pointed ends just throw me off.

            Anyway, I would like to show you some of my art sometime.  I don’t know if I’m allowed to show fan art, but I can at least show you my original work.  I have some of my book and comic characters drawn, among others.  Bye now.

The Duckling

Leave a Reply

