A Little Bit About My Writing

            So you must be thinking, isn’t she going to say what her stuff is about?  Huh?  Well, yes and no.  Which equals kinda.  I would like to tell you all about it, but since I’m afraid of someone stealing my ideas, I’ll only tell you a little bit for now.  The Internet can be a scary place, no?

            First of all, when it comes to my writing in general, I like dark things, fantasy, sci-fi.  When it comes to fantasy, I don’t write about elves and dwarves and those types of things, though.  More vampires, witches, ghosts.  With sci-fi, more machines and “oh, my gosh, the world will be destroyed if something’s not done!” type of thing.  I don’t do alien stuff yet, but perhaps someday when I can actually think of cool designs for such things.  Also, I like to make characters very different from what you’d expect.  No stereotypical vampires, witches, or even villains.  And I like to keep in mind that villains don’t think they’re doing anything bad.

            I’ve written two poems I may try to publish, one written several years ago, after I read all of Edgar Allen Poe’s work.  I revised it recently, and I hope to start sending it in soon.  I can’t describe it without giving away too much.  Just Poe-inspired.  My other poem is based on a picture I did.  It’s very simple, based on the innocence of a child who thinks she can achieve something impossible….

            I wrote a darker novel a few years ago, and I felt quite proud of it.  I wrote the entire thing, actually, but it’s not publish-worthy material.  So, I decided to seriously redo it.  Rethink what will happen and why.  I’m no longer satisfied with, “Oh, they’re the chosen one, so that’s why they must save the world.”  There has to be a better reason that that.  Sometimes it works, but it may not for an unpublished author like myself.  I started rewriting it, then, got lazy with it.  I’ll get back to it someday.

            But before I did continue with it, I had this bizarre dream.  It was random bits of this adventure, a creature fighting a very evil man.  (And another character came from another later dream, too.)

And I figured out how this vague dream idea could turn into a story.  That is the novel I have almost finished, a girl and her two companions, fighting an enemy who seems unstoppable, who has lied in wait for hundreds of years because of the simple mistake of not killing him when they (not the main characters) had the chance.  Each of the three heroes has a personal reason for defeating this menace, who believes it was really the king he overthrew that was causing the trouble.  I fear I have not planned it out as well as I should have before I began, but I’ve gone too far to give up now (Over 50,000 words so far, woo, it’s a novel now!).  I’m going to finish and rewrite what wasn’t done well, and perhaps it may not be a bad story.

Well, that’s all for now.  I’ll tell you about my comic next time.  It’s even more complicated to explain.  And someday, when my story is fixed up, maybe I’ll type up part of it for you all.  I hope you’ll enjoy it.

 The Indeed Duck

2 thoughts on “A Little Bit About My Writing

Leave a Reply

